Skip to main content



Harry C. Moore Library Guide: About Us

Introduction to Library

Central to the University of The Bahamas’ planned evolution to a university, the Harry C. Moore Library & Information Centre is a key facilitator of the institution’s focus on research and innovation. The $28 million library, at the southwest quadrant of The University's Oakes Field campus, was constructed to meet the needs of a growing student population, expanding baccalaureate and master degree programmes and the increased demand for library services and holdings by the University community and the public. The library memorializes the late Harry C. Moore, former Chairman of the Lyford Cay Foundation, and a former member of the University Council (1996 - 2001), by bearing his name. Mr. Moore was an outstanding friend of The University and advocate of the library project. With a holdings capacity for 150,000 volumes, institutional archives and special collections, the library’s phenomenal digital capacity facilitates an electronic catalogue, full-text periodical databases and multi-database searching for full information discovery. A circular design that lends to vistas of The University's Oakes Field campus, the 60,000 square foot library can accommodate approximately 650 library users and has group and study spaces, a 75-seat auditorium and is handicap accessible. It also features a 24-hour Internet café and has wireless access throughout the property.

University of The Bahamas Libraries and Instructional Media Services Department is a system of three library branches: Harry C. Moore Library and Information Centre (HCML), Hilda Bowen Library (HBL) and the Northern Campus Library (NCL). In addition to general collections, the HCML provides specialized Bahamian, Caribbean and Law collections.  LIMS caters to the research and information needs of the entire University community with an instructional media services department that provides technical support for students and their professors in the classroom.

For more information contact the Reference Desk at (242) 302-4517 or via email: referencedesk@ub.edu.bs

 

Library Location & Hours

 

 

Harry C. Moore Library and Information Centre
Oakes Field Campus
P O Box N4912 Nassau, Bahamas
Tel: (242) 302-4552
Fax: (242) 302-4531
Library@cob.edu.bs
Additional phone contacts:

Circulation Desk - (242) 302-4491
Reference Desk - (242) 302-4517
Law Collection - (242) 677-3227
Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday  8:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday                          9:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Saturday                     9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sunday                        1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Information Commons (Computer Lab) Hours are set by OIT department

 

Summer Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Friday                         9:30 a.m. -5:00 p.m.
Saturday                    9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sunday                       CLOSED

 

 

Extended Hours of Operation:
Week preceding and up to the mid-semester break Final week of classes to the end of the final exam period
8:00 a.m. - Midnight

Library Staff

Dr. Berthamae Walker

University Librarian

Elsie Bain

Acquisitions & Interim Law Librarian

Shananda Miller-Hinsey

​Deputy & Systems Librarian 

Antoinette Pinder-Darling

​Catalogoing Librarian

Christine Swann

Public Services​ Librarian 

Catharine Archer

Reference Librarian 

Felicia Armbrister

Special Collections (Supervisor)

Tracey Thompson

Director of Oral History (Supervisor)

Judy Rolle

Special Collections

Dorna Moxey

Serials

Loniece Miller

Library Office

Rosemary Whylly

Cataloging

Agatha Brown

Circulation

Glenelle Scantlebury

Law Collections

Edwidge Noelus

​Law Collections

Vanessa Mackey

Systems 

Tammi Wood

Circulation/American Corner

Social Media... Connect with us!

For all your library resources, events, updates, and more - follow your university library: