Skip to Main Content




Library Orientation Assignment: 2. Library Collections and Services

This purpose of this guide is to provide new students with an orientation to the University of The Bahamas Libraries. Please contact your instructor for the written assignment that accompanies this guide.

Overview

The University Libraries at the University of The Bahamas provide a variety of collections and services to support the research and learning needs of the University community. Here we will provide information on some of these for you.

Library Collections

  • Reserve Collection
    • Library and other materials for specific courses are placed on restricted loan by instructors to make them available to students on an equitable basis. This collection is located at the Circulation Desk. Some materials are available on 2-hour, in-Library loan; others are available for overnight or three day loan.
  • Special/Bahamian Collections
    • The Special Collections Department is a closed access area. This collection houses all materials relate to The Bahamian, whether by Bahamian authors or about The Bahamas. These include periodicals, rare books, government documents, and faculty and student research papers. A vertical file in this area contains pamphlets, newspaper clippings and articles. Bahamian Newspapers are also available on microfilm, but these are located at the Reference/Information desk. More information about Special Collections can be found here.
  • Law Collection
    • The Law Collection is located on the 2nd Floor of the library. This collection supports the information needs of the faculty and students in the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill and University of the Bahamas’, joint venture LLB program. It is important to note that as of Fall 2014 UB initiated its own autonomous LLB program for the first year students alone.  The collection is inclusive of reserve reading materials, articles, periodicals, books, law reports, reference materials and any additional resource materials pertaining to LLB classes.  For more information, visit the Law Collections LibGuide.
  • United Nations Collection
    • University of The Bahamas Library is a partial United Nations depository. Patrons may access UN materials via the OPAC. For further details consult the Reference Librarian.
  • Caribbean Dissertations
    • The Library has over 2000 titles from University Microfilms International Dissertation Programme. This collection is regarded as one of the most extensive of its kind in the world, and is an excellent research resource.
  • Periodical Collection
    • Current and retrospective periodical titles are available electronically through the Internet and electronic services such as EBSCO, in print, and in other formats such as microfilm and microfiche. A Directory of Periodicals is available at the Library's Reference Desk and online: COB Union List of Journals
  • Teaching Practice Collection
    • This collection consists of a wide variety of materials useful to student teachers in the primary and secondary education programmes.  It is located on the 1st floor behind the elevators.
  • Audio-Visual Collection
    • The Library's Instructional Media Services Unit holds a collection of videocassettes, audiocassettes, multi-media kits, and the relevant hardware for their use. For further details consult the Media Unit at 302-4460.

Library Services

  • Interlibrary Loan
    • Books and articles not available in the collections of the UB Libraries may be obtained from other libraries through interlibrary loan or a document delivery service. Requests can be submitted online (cobill@ub.edu.bs) or placed at the Reference/Information Desk at each library. The interlibrary loan service is free of charge to UB students, faculty and staff.
  • Information Literacy Instruction
    • Librarians are available to conduct individual and/or group sessions. The sessions are designed to provide users with knowledge about the library resources, services and programmes while demonstrating search strategy skills which users can have for life- long learning. 
  • Tours
    • Individual and group tours are conducted on request. Please contact the Reference Librarian at the particular library or request via email:referencedesk@ub.edu.bs.
  • Computing and Printing Services
    • There are computers and printers distributed throughout the HCM Library. These are connected to the University network and prints done in the library will be deducted from your semester's printing allowance. There is an Internet cafe located on the ground floor of the Harry C. Moore Library which is operated by the Office on Information Technology. 
  • Photocopying
    • Photocopying is available at the University Libraries for a nominal fee. The copying machines are operated using copy cards. Rechargeable copy cards are available for purchase at the Circulation Desk at the Harry C. Moore Library.