Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.




Hilda Bowen Library: Collections and Services

The Hilda Bowen Library Collection serves nursing and allied health students of University of The Bahamas. Resources are located in the Harry C. Moore Library at the Oakes Field Campus

CURBSIDE BORROWING SERVICES

THE HILDA BOWEN LIBRARY IS NOW CLOSED.

IF THERE ARE PARTICULAR BOOKS OR OTHER RESOURCES YOU WISH TO CONSULT, EMAIL THE LIBRARIAN AND THE RESOURCES WILL BE MADE AVAILABLE FOR YOU TO PICK UP AT THE MAIN LIBRARY AT THE OAKES FIELD CAMPUS.  A 24-HOUR TURN-AROUND TIME FOR REQUESTS WILL BE THE STANDARD WE AIM FOR.

NOTE THAT THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF NURSING E-BOOKS AVAILABLE THROUGH THE EBSCO EBOOK COLLECTION AND THE OVID NURSING DATABASE COLLECTION.  PLEASE USE THEM.

Monographs

The largest collection of books is the HBL Main or Circulating Collection of about 5000 books.  Note that there are some titles on the open shelves but have a Library Use Only tag  - meaning that they cannot be borrowed.  The collection is arranged or classified using the Library of Congress Classification system  

Other collections include:

Reference Books - these do not circulate.

Reserve Collection - available for in-library use or over-night

Rare Books - a small collection of  historical Bahamian or nurse education books

World Health Organization / Pan American Health Organization Deposit Centre - books and documents are catalogued and integrated into the Main collection

A Brief Guide to Classification of Hilda Bowen Library Collections

R - Medicine

RA - Public Health

RB - Pathophysiology

RC - Internal Medicine

RD - Surgery / Wounds

RE - Ophthamology

RF - Audiology

RG - Gynecology and Women's Health

RJ - Pediatrics

RM - Pharmacology

RS - Pharmacy

RT - Nursing

 

Serials

The HBL Periodical collection in print is very small.  Journals do no circulate.  When a  complete year or volume is received, they will be bound. Effective 2020 the HBL no longer subscribes to any print journals.  All current journals are in digital format only and accessible through the EBSCO and OVID nursing databases.

NOTE: The University of The Bahamas has access to nearly 100,000 journal titles in print, online, microfilm etc. 

Archives

The HBL collects "ephemeral" materials for its archive.  Examples are graduation programmes, funeral programmes, newspaper supplements, retirement and other celebratory booklets, invitations, photographs, etc.  If warranted, some of these materials are scanned and available to the public through the Digital Library of the Caribbean www.dLOC.com

Services

Reference - including online Chat.

Borrowing - for currently registered students.  2 weeks loan plus one renewal.  Maximum 12 books.

Computers - there are four computers available for students.  One is designated for printing. 

Printing - one black and white printer on the student network

Study Space - safe and secure study space open 8 am to 5 pm Monday to Friday

 

A-Z Database List