Special Collections: Articles & Journals

IJBS Home Page

Journal of the Bahamas Historical Society 

This journal that focuses on historical topics that relate to the Bahamas.

Search title in OPAC to see available issues and indexed articles.

2006-2015 issues are available in Caribbean Search database of EBSCOhost Web.

The College of the Bahamas Research Journal

The predecessor to the International Journal of Bahamian Studies, this journal is available in print format within Special Collections.

EBSCO consists of  a variety of databases containing current journal articles. 

Search EBSCO Discovery Service - All databases -> Advance Search -> "Bahamas"

The links below require login with username and password.

Music

Art Music by Caribbean Composers: Bahamas 

Music in Paradise: Learning the Rhythm of Bahamian Culture

"Come Back Home": Regional Travels, Global Encounters, and Local Nostalgias in Bahamian Popular Musics

Cultural identity in Bahamian art music: The expression of four Bahamian composers. Panel discussion at the International Symposium on Composers of African and Afro-Caribbean Descent

Funky Nassau: Roots, Routes, and Representation in Bahamian Popular Music Timothy Rommen

Religion

Religious Toleration and Ecclesiastical Independence in Revolutionary Britain, Bermuda and the Bahamas.

Believers and beaters: A case study of supernatural beliefs and child rearing in the Bahama Islands.

Bahamas, Jamaica Assigning New Priority To Religious Market.

A History of Anglicanism in the Caribbean and The Bahamas

Junkanoo

Junkanoo: The African Cultural Connection in Nassau, Bahamas.

The economic impact of Junkanoo in The Bahamas

Theater in the Bush: Art, Politics, And Community in The Bahamas

JUNKANOO IN THE BAHAMAS

Junkanoo: The African Cultural Connection in Nassau, Bahamas.

The Bahamas: Home to the one and only Junkanoo Carnival.

Bahamas to add junkanoo to school curriculum.

Migration

Migration in The Bahamas and the Caribbean: A Bibliography

The Colonization of the Bahama Archipelago: A Reappraisal

The Migration of Peoples From the Caribbean to the Bahamas.

"The Haitian Problem": Illegal Migration to the Bahamas (Book).

The Characteristics of Internal Migration To and From New Providence Island (Greater Nassau), Bahamas 1960–1970

Education

The School of Education: Leading the Way for Future Generations of Teachers in The Bahamas

Progress Report on the Project "Purpose and Promise: A History of the Evolution of Higher Education in The Bahamas: with particular reference to the History of The College of The Bahamas" August 1, 2009 – April 30, 2010

The Impact of College Graduates on Bahamian Society: With Emphasis on Graduates from The College of The Bahamas.

Economic History

FISCAL DISCIPLINE IN THE ACHIEVEMENT OF FISCAL AND DEBT SUSTAINABILITY IN THE BAHAMAS.​

The influence of trade on Bahamian slave culture.

Fisheries

THE AQUATIC INVADERS: Marine Management Figuring Fishermen, Fisheries, and Lionfish in The Bahamas.

Red Lionfish (Pterois volitans) Invade San Salvador, Bahamas: No Early Effects on Coral and Fish Communities

Unreported catch and tourist demand on local fisheries of small island states: the case of The Bahamas, 1950-2010.

Foraging habitats and migration corridors utilized by a recovering subpopulation of adult female loggerhead sea turtles: implications for conservation.

Reserve effects and natural variation in coral reef communities.

Detection of shifts in coral reef fish assemblage structure over 50 years at reefs of New Providence Island, The Bahamas highlight the value of the Academy of Natural Sciences' collections in a changing world

History

Constructing Community and Nation in the Archipelago: Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Freedom and Resistance: A Social History of Black Loyalists in the Bahamas Christopher Curry

Ramble Bahamas: Pioneering Bahamian History & Culture in the Digital Age

Florida Slaves, the "Saltwater Railroad" to the Bahamas, and Anglo-American Diplomacy.

Fictional space and taxonomies of race in the Bahamas: mapping American identity in the early Republic.

Form and Function of Bipolar Lithic Artifacts from the Three Dog Site, San Salvador, Bahamas

The Bahamas from Slavery to Servitude, 1783-1933.

The 'Wild Indians' of Andros Island: Black Seminole Legacy in the Bahamas.

Science

Breeding Biology and Natural History of the Bahama Swallow

The last interglacial (MIS 5e) cycle at Little Bahama Bank: A history of climate and sea-level changes.

JSTOR database also provide access  to Bahamian related articles contained in academic journals.