Law Collection Guide: Legal Topics

Elliott and Quinn's market-leading English Legal System continues to provide a complete and lively guide to the intricacies of the legal system in England and Wales. Highly regarded for its accuracy, analysis and engaging style, English Legal System is a firm favourite amongst students who rely on this trusted text. From how the law is made to understanding concepts of law, the authors explore all areas of the English Legal System to provide a clear appreciation of the subject with their signature style and clarity.

Fully updated and revised to fit in with the new laws and structure in the Commonwealth Caribbean law and legal systems, this new edition examines the institutions, structures and processes of the law in the Commonwealth Caribbean. The author explores: - the court system and the new Caribbean Court of Justice which replaces appeals to the Privy Council - the offshore financial legal sector - Caribbean customary law and the rights of indigenous peoples - the Constitutions of Commonwealth Caribbean jurisdictions and Human Rights - the impact of the historical continuum to the region's jurisprudence including the question of reparations - the complexities of judicial precedent for Caribbean peoples - international law as a source of law - alternative dispute mechanisms and the Ombudsman Effortlessy combining discussions of traditional subjects with those on more innovative subject areas, this book is an exciting exposition of Caribbean law and legal systems for those studying comparative law.

Now in its ninth edition, Walker and Walker's English Legal System is a long established and popular text on the English legal system. Every Law student needs a thorough grounding in the institutions and procedures of the legal system, and this leading text provides clear and authoritativecoverage of the fundamentals.The pace of change in the English legal system has been frantic in recent years, with few structures or procedures remaining unaffected by change. This book has been extensively revised and rewritten to reflect these changes, and it provides a clear exposition and analysis of the main principlesand issues.Coverage of the Human Rights Act 1998 has been significantly expanded, and the sections on civil and criminal procedure have been substantially re-written to reflect the wealth of recent reforms. The implications of the Constitutional Reform Bill 2005 are considered throughout, and there is alsodetailed treatment of the reform of the legal profession. Other changes addressed in this edition include the government's plans for the tribunals system, the expansion of the European Union, and the important changes brought about by the Courts Act 2003.

This edition takes account of all major legislative and judicial changes including reforms to the new civil justice process, the incorporation of the European Convention of Human Rights into UK law, and developments in the area of criminal justice. Written by a respected author in this field, the book contains a collection of materials taken from a wide variety of sources, and a useful commentary highlights issues of particular importance. This book is a companion to 'Zander: The Law Making Process'.

Capital punishment is a debate that grips civil society anew with every incidence of homicide. The cry from a majority of stakeholders is a desperate plea to enforce the death penalty which has been derogated by the courts, at home and abroad. The abatement of capital punishment takes place amidst a tidal wave of unrelenting crimes against the person, namely murder. The branches of government seem bereft at best to provide a remedy and at worse unable to enforce the law as it relates capital punishment in the Bahamas. Added to this is an uneasy public whose trust in the executive, legislative and judicial branches of government is noticeably waning. Additionally, outside forces, led by abolitionists, are bearing down on the Bahamas with a view of nudging the nation and the Caribbean into an era of life imprisonment for murder as opposed to death by hanging as its penalty. Toote sets forth these issues with striking clarity, offering practical remedies to help settle the controversy surrounding the death penalty in the Bahamas and the Caribbean. 'Capital Punishment in the Bahamas and the Caribbean' in light of the Privy Council's moratorium is required reading for all who desire an appreciation of the subject of capital punishment, including students, religious leaders and professionals in the legal arena.

Statutes, judicial opinions, contracts, deeds, and wills profoundly affect our daily lives, but their language tends to be often nearly impossible to understand. In this lively history of legal language, Peter Tiersma slices through the thicket of legalese, explaining where it comes from, why lawyers continue to cling to it, and why it's doesn't have to be an inevitable feature of our legal system. "Legal Language will resonate with lawyers . . . and any non-lawyer who has waded through legal documents, or has tuned in to the latest trial on Court TV."--Carmie D. Boccuzzi, Jr., Boston Book Review "[A] masterful, highly readable, and enjoyable book. . . . Legal Language is truly a fun book to read."--David Schultz, Law and Politics Book Review

A leading text in legal writing, Legal Reasoning and Legal Writing explores the nuts and bolts of writing an office memo, a motion memo, and an appellate brief. In addition, chapters are included on oral argument and client letters. Well-known and highly regarded authors deliver the best explanation available on the reasoning underlying the proof of a conclusion of law. Thoughtful coverage of all aspects of legal reasoning goes from rule-based analysis to the strategy of persuasion. Helpful instruction on the process of writing accompanies a study of the mechanics of style and grammar. Examples and exercises throughout the text provide needed practice. The presentation of the Seventh Edition is tighter with a more open page design that is even easier to read. Coverage has been fine-tuned in response to user feedback. There are now new chapters on email memos and a new appendix on document design. Additional insight is given on the writing process as well as the process of persuasion, all with updated examples and exercises. Chapters on briefing cases, interviewing clients, and writing exam answers, as well as appendices on basic legal usage and rules of punctuation have been moved to the website for easy access. Features: comprehensive coverage office memos motion memo appellate briefs oral argument client letters best explanation available on the Paradigm for Organizing a Proof of a Conclusion of Law thoughtful coverage of all aspects of legal reasoning, from rule-based analysis to the strategy of persuasion careful instruction on process of writing, as well as mechanics of style and grammar examples and exercises included throughout. well-known and highly regarded authors Thoroughly updated, the revised Seventh Edition presents: tighter presentation and with an open page design making the material more accessible new chapters on email memos updated examples and exercises fine-tuned coverage in response to feedback from users new material on the writing process additional insight on the process of persuasion new appendix on document design material on briefing cases; obtaining fact; writing exam answers; and appendices on basic legal usage and Rules of Punctuation moved to the website for greater convenience

Legal Writingguides students comprehensively through this vital legal skill and addresses a range of assessment methods, from exam questions to final essays and problem answers. It considers how to deconstruct essay and problem questions and how to conduct and apply legal research to answer set questions. Lisa Webley explains how to reference others' work clearly and correctly, making this book a useful tool for students concerned about issues of plagiarism. It also focuses on how to develop and communicate legal arguments, with both good and bad examples of written work considered and discussed in the text. Legal Writingis particularly useful for undergraduate students, especially at the beginning of degree studies, and to GDL and CPE students too. This fully revised third edition includes:  More guidance on reading, including speed reading techniques, and on note-taking skills A wholly revised chapter on referencing to employ the OSCOLA style, which has become the default style of most UK law schools in recent years More worked examples throughout the text, and additional examples from across the legal curriculum on the companion website An improved companion website with increased guidance for revision, FAQs and more multiple choice questions allow students to test their progress and further engage with the topics in the book.

This best-selling dictionary is an authoritative and comprehensive source of jargon-free legal information. It contains over 4,700 entries that clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system.Entries have been fully updated for this edition to incorporate the latest legislation, including entries on foreign national offenders, Police and Crime Commissioners, corporate manslaughter, and settlement agreements, and there is a useful Writing and Citation Guide that specifically addressesproblems and established conventions for writing legal essays and reports. Now providing more information than ever before, this edition features recommended web links for many entries, which are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Law companion website.Described by leading university lecturers as "the best law dictionary" and "excellent for non-law students as well as law undergraduates", this classic dictionary is an invaluable source of legal reference for professionals, students, and anyone else needing succinct clarification of legal terms.Focusing primarily on English law, it also provides a one-stop source of information for any of the many countries that base their legal system on English law.

Hit the ground running with the best-selling tort law textbook from leading academics Kirsty Horsey and Erika Rackley.Are you new to tort law and seeking to understand its complexities? This textbook provides a lively, insightful and thought-provoking account which assumes no prior knowledge. As well as comprehensive coverage of the legal concepts and case law, there is a range of carefully chosen features todevelop understanding including annotated judgments and statutes, diagrams, and problem questions in each chapter.Do you want to become a reflective and critical thinker? This book will help you not just to learn but rather to understand tort law, and to think about why the law is the way it is and how it could be different. Make your studies interesting and intellectually stimulating with questions raisedthroughout the book, including in the 'counterpoint' and 'pause for reflection' features.Do you want to take your studies further and engage with current issues? The new edition includes some of the latest research, policy, and debate. The discussion continues beyond the textbook too: there are video clips from recent news items and links to topical sites on the Online Resource Centreand you can follow the author Twitter feed for updates and comment.

The leading work on the law of torts, Winfield and Jolowicz on Tort provides the definitive guidance that students need in order to excel. It is trusted by practitioners to provide clear and accurate statements of the law.
Centred firmly on English law but covers the significant developments in Commonwealth countries and, where appropriate, European systems of tort law
Contains all of the latest case law and legislative developments

Tort law is a subject of primary importance in the study and practice of the common law in Caribbean jurisdictions. This work is now well established as the leading text on tort law in the region, and this fifth edition has been updated throughout to incorporate developments in law and legal thinking, including special contributions on medical negligence and the misuse of private information from the Hon Justice Roy Anderson and Dr Vanessa Kodilinye. The accessible writing style and integration of up-to-date material enables students to grasp the salient points and develop a thorough understanding of Tort Law in the Caribbean. Although conceived primarily as a text for the LLB degree courses in Caribbean universities, Commonwealth Caribbean Tort Law is also essential reading for students preparing for the CAPE Law examinations and the various paralegal courses in the region. Legal practitioners will find the book useful as a work of ready reference, and it will also be of interest to those business executives, industrialists, insurance agents and journalists who require some knowledge of this most important area of the law.

This new text offers a stimulating and thought-provoking guide to tort law. It combines a wealth of substantial extracts from cases and materials with insightful author commentary and explanations to create a complete learning resource for students.The author's clear writing style enables students to gain a secure understanding of the fundamental principles of the subject, as well as guiding students through the more complex issues. This text presents a range of perspectives, and provides students with the detailed knowledge and analyticaltools required to engage fully with this fascinating subject.Designed as a stand-alone textbook, undergraduates will find everything they need in this one convenient and easy-to-use volume.

The first textbook on Commonwealth Caribbean contract law for undergraduate and sixth form students, Commonwealth Caribbean Contract Law is a new and unrivalled resource on the subject. This textbook utilises Caribbean case law and statutory provisions to provide a clear and immersive path into the study of contract law from a Caribbean perspective. Encompassing fundamental topics such as offer and acceptance, consideration, privity, terms, sale of goods, agency, misrepresentation, undue influence, illegality, discharge and remedies, this book expertly introduces and comprehensively explains all key principles of contractual obligations studied by undergraduate students in the Caribbean, and is relevant to practitioners in a modern and accessible way. An invaluable reference, this book is essential reading for those with an academic or professional interest in Caribbean contract law. Commonwealth Caribbean Contract Law is written by a well-established textbook author who is a professor of law at the University of the West Indies and a solicitor at a leading international law firm based in London.

Jill Poole's immensely popular Textbook on Contract Law has been guiding students through contract law for many years. The accessible writing style and focus on key principles and developments in contract law make this text a favourite with students and lecturers alike. The author places thelaw of contract clearly within its wider context before proceeding to provide detailed yet accessible treatment of all the key areas encountered when studying contract law.Key features:* Key points, illustrative examples and questions encourage a deeper understanding of the central facts and issues* Each chapter begins with a summary of key issues, providing an overview of key themes and points of law, and concludes with suggestions for further reading, guiding you towards the most relevant texts and articles* An attractive page design highlights headings, case summaries, case extracts and a variety of learning features, making navigation through the text easyFully supported by an Online Resource Centre, which provides:Student Resources:Regular updates on new legislation, cases, and other important developmentsGuidance on answering questions in contract lawSelf-test questions and answers linked with Casebook on Contract LawLecturer Resources:A test bank of 300 multiple choice questions with answers and feedback

Jill Poole's bestselling Casebook on Contract Law provides students with a comprehensive selection of case law which addresses all aspects of the subject encountered on undergraduate courses.Extracts have been chosen from a wide range of historical and contemporary cases to illustrate the reasoning processes of the courts and to show how legal principles are developed. The cases can either be analysed and discussed independently or, taken as a whole, the cases form chapters that providea sound understanding of the modern law of contract.The casebook is fully supported by an Online Resource Centre, which provides:* Exercises and guidance on reading cases* Guidance on answering questions in contract law* Self-test questions and answers

The Modern Law of Contractis a clear and logical introductory textbook, written by a leading author and lecturer with over thirty years teaching and examining experience. Offering a carefully tailored overview of all key topics for LLB and GDL courses, this tenth edition has been thoroughly updated and presents learning features that will help students to: Understand and remember core topics:boxed chapter summaries offer a useful checklist for students, while illustrative diagrams help to clarify difficult concepts Identify important cases and assess their relevance: 'Key Case' features highlight and contextualise the most significant cases Reflect on how contract law operates in context:Highlighted 'for thought' features ask students to consider 'what if' scenarios, while 'in focus' features offer critical commentary on the law Consolidate learning and prepare for assessment:the book's Companion Website presents chapter-by-chapter Multiple-Choice Questions; a Flashcard glossary; contract law skills advice; PowerPoint slides of the diagrams within the book; and sample essay questions. Clearly written and easy to use, The Modern Law of Contractenables undergraduate students of contract law to fully engage with the topic and gain a profound understanding of this fundamental area.

The fifth edition of Ewan McKendrick's Contract Law: Text, Cases, and Materials provides a complete guide to the subject in a single volume, containing everything needed for the study of contract law at undergraduate level.
Written by an experienced author and leading authority in the field, this is a popular text with students and lecturers alike.
The book comprises a unique balance of 40% text to 60% cases and materials, combining the best features of a textbook with those of a traditional casebook. The author's clear explanations and analyses of the law provide invaluable support to students, while the extracts from cases and materials promote the development of essential case reading skills and allow for a more detailed appreciation of the practical workings of the law, and of the best legal scholarship.

Celebrating fifty years since it first published in 1965, Smith and Hogan's Criminal Law is rightly regarded as the leading doctrinal textbook on criminal law in England and Wales. The book owes its consistent popularity to its accessible style, depth of analysis, and breadth of coverage.Professor David Ormerod has been joined by Karl Laird to continue the tradition set down by Professors Sir John Smith and Brian Hogan by producing a textbook for a wide legal readership. The text continues to be an invaluable resource for undergraduate students and an essential reference source forcriminal law practitioners.Online Resource CentreThe text is accompanied by free comprehensive annual legal updates, organized by chapter. Also included is a full bibliography arranged alphabetically and by chapter.

The fourth edition of this best-selling book has been thoroughly revised to take into account recent developments in the law in criminal practice and procedure across the region. The only textbook that explores criminal practice and procedure as it relates to the Commonwealth Caribbean, the book clari¿es the state law in each of 11 jurisdictions, at the same time making it clear when laws are the same or similar and highlighting where differences among jurisdictions occur. Both statute law and common law are examined in the relevant jurisdictions, which include Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Barbados, Jamaica and Grenada amongst others. The impact of statutory changes in the laws are analysed, as well as recent developments in the common law. Throughout the text the statutory law in the Commonwealth Caribbean is compared to similar English legislation, in the light of the analysis of such legislation in English case law. Commonwealth Caribbean Criminal Practice and Procedure is the recommended textbook for all profes- sional law schools in the Commonwealth Caribbean and is used at regional universities as a reference book for criminal justice students. In addition, as the only book that deals speci¿cally with criminal practice and procedure in the regions, it has proved a valuable reference tool for legal practitioners, judicial officers and police officers.

With a reputation for being one of the very best introductory texts on the substantive criminal law in England and Wales, Card, Cross and Jones: Criminal Law remains a firm favourite with lecturers and students alike. Carefully developed coverage ensures that this textbook will support youthroughout your study helping you to advance your understanding of the key principles governing criminal law. Designed for use on undergraduate courses and diplomas in law, discussion of case law as well as hypothetical examples and key point summaries guide you through the technicalities of thisfascinating aspect of law.Online Resource Centre:An Online Resource Centre providing web links and detailed updates help you to keep pace with all the latest developments in criminal law.

This book includes the reforms proposed by the various Caribbean Commissions since 1985, making it a comprehensive guide to constitutional law in the Caribbean. It outlines sources of the law and developing changes in the doctrine of sovereignty of Parliament and the Conventions of the Constitution as well as in the role of the Public Service. There is also an expanded commentary on the Caribbean judiciary in which special reference is made to the proposed Caribbean Court of Justice.Caribbean Constitutional Law will be valuable to students of law and political science and practitioners wishing to renew their acquaintance with the basic concepts of constitutional law.

This books examines constitution of the The Bahamas and associated problems therein such as The five Bahamian constitutions
The Westminster export model constitution
Internal constitutional structure, government/conventions/entrenchment and ouster clauses
The preamble and the conflict between Christian morality and a secular constitution
The citizenship dilemma
Political interference v. judicial independence
Our senate v. the senate in a republic
The prime minister v. the president in the democratic republic of the Bahamas
The constitution and international law
Referenda and the Bahamian leader
The cost of a new constitution
True constitutional creation.

The Five Bahamian "Constitutions"
An Empire Ending Constitution
No Bahamian Constitution Creation
The Westminister Export Model Constitution
Bahamian Constitution Internal Structure
Christian Preamble v. Secular Constitution
The Citizenship Dilemma
Political Interference v. Judicial Independence
Our Appointed Senate v. an Elected Senate
The Prime Minister v. The President
The Constitution, and Internationalism
Referenda and the Prime Minister
The New Constitution, What can we afford?
1973: No True Revolution without Land Reform
Reform or Original Constituion Creation?

Commonwealth Caribbean Administrative Law comprehensively explores the nature and function of administrative law in contemporary Caribbean society. It considers the administrative machinery of Caribbean States; Parliament, the Executive and the judiciary. It then examines the basis for judicial review of executive and administrative action in the Caribbean by looking at the statutory provisions that underpin this and the plethora of case law emerging from the region. The book will also look to how the courts in the Commonwealth Caribbean have sought to define principles of administrative law. This book will also consider the alternative methods by which the rights of citizens are protected, including the ombudsman and the use of tribunals and inquiries, as well as looking forward to the increasingly significant role of Caribbean Integration law and bodies such as CARICOM and the OESC.

The establishment of the Caribbean Court of Justice sees the countries of the Commonwealth Caribbean at an important and exciting judicial crossroads. Debate, often acrimonious, continues over the abolishment of ties to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council and, increasingly those influencing the debate are a more educated and articulate Caribbean people, insisting on proper governance of the area's public bodies. This new book analyzes judicial review, a mechanism for achieving public justice, through emerging case law in the hope that it will cast light on the jurisprudential evolution of Caribbean society in the twenty-first century. Bringing together cases and materials on judicial review in the Caribbean for the first time, this book examines what judicial review is, before going on to discuss the grounds, obstacles and conduct within the judicial review process. It concludes by examining the future of judicial review and justice more generally in the Caribbean. Legal professionals in the Caribbean will find it a useful and comprehensive reference tool.

Taking a critical look at the major areas of constitutional and administrative law, Commonwealth Caribbean Public Law places a firm emphasis on the protection of citizens' rights and good governance. The third edition of this book builds on the success of the previous two editions, setting-out the established legal principles through Caribbean cases, along with critique and commentary of the law where appropriate. Contemporary issues and changes in Caribbean public law are addressed including: the refining of the rules governing judicial review; recent cases dealing with the death penalty; and the likely impact on CARICOM initiatives on the rights of citizens.

Property law is concerned with a wider variety of rights, obligations and interests than most other areas of law, and can prove daunting to those studying the subject for the first time. Commonwealth Caribbean Property Law sets out in a clear and concise manner the central principles of the law of real property in the region, in order to guide students through this often complex core subject area. In this new edition, the book has been fully revised and updated to include important new case law from the various Caribbean jurisdictions and an expanded appendix of working documents. With comprehensive coverage of the main topics studied by undergraduates, such as Leases, Co-Ownership, Restrictive Covenants, Easements, Mortgages, and Land Sale, this textbook is essential reading for LLB students in Caribbean universities and students on CAPE Law courses. The extensive coverage of land law from a Caribbean perspective and analysis of the substantive laws of several jurisdictions will also make this text an invaluable reference tool for practitioners.

The first textbook to address land law as it relates to the Commonwealth Caribbean, it encompasses all areas covered in an undergraduate course on the law of real property in the Caribbean. Primary and secondary source material on the law of property in the whole of the Commonwealth Caribbean is made easily and readily accessible to law students and legal practitioners. Statutory provisions from all States are discussed in relation to each topic and the similarities and differences are highlighted. Extensive discussion and analysis of the decisions of the courts in the region are also included alongside an in-depth analysis and critical discussion of English case law that is relevant to the Caribbean. The examination of whether or not English case law should be followed in the region is relevant and interesting to anyone studying or practising law in other Commonwealth jurisdictions. Essential reading for undergraduate law students in the Caribbean, this text will also prove useful to those studying for the certificate of proficiency in the practice of law in the Commonwealth Caribbean, while the footnote references to statutory provisions are an invaluable aid to any researcher of Caribbean land law.  

The seventeenth edition of this classic work on land law has been substantially re-ordered and revised to ensure that it presents the modern law of real property - the land law of the twenty-first century - whilst setting the modern law in the context of its historical foundations.Since the publication of the last edition in 2000, there have been major developments in this area of the law. The Land Registration Act 2002 and the Land Registration Rules 2003 are fully incorporated into the text, together with other legislative changes, such as the Commonhold and LeaseholdReform Act 2002, the Housing Act 2004 and the Planning and Compulsory Purchase Act 2004, and the numerous proposals of the Law Commission for reform. Developments in the case law are also fully discussed.

The 5th edition of Public International Law continues the book's accessible, student-friendly tradition with a writing style that is both conversational and easy to read. Features designed to support learning include highlighted key cases, introductory chapter overviews, and end-of-chapter aides-mémoire and recommended further reading. Public International Law is unique in that it is both a textbook and a casebook. The facts of each case and the details of the court or tribunal's decision are succinctly set out, followed by detailed commentary from the author, and, where appropriate, a brief explanation of subsequent events. The book covers all the major areas of public international law, and takes account of new developments relating to the codification of international law by the International Law Commission, State practice, and decisions of international courts and tribunals, in particular those of the International Court of Justice. Features new to this edition: A new dedicated chapter on the law of the sea Diagrammatic aides-mémoire at the end of each chapter Expanded coverage of the US approach to international law via its courts and executive. This book is an ideal learning tool for students of law or political science and provides a clear and straight-forward overview for anyone with an interest in the subject. Alina Kaczorowska-Ireland is Professor of International and EU Law at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, Barbados. She is also author of the Routledge textbook, EU Law.

This concise book is an introduction to the role of international law in international relations. Written for lawyers and non-lawyers alike, the book first appeared in 1928 and attracted a wide readership. This new edition builds on Brierly's scholarship and his idea that law must serve a social purpose. Previous editions of The Law of Nations have been the standard introduction to international law for decades, and are widely popular in many different countries due to the simplicity and brevity of the prose style. Providing a comprehensive overview of international law, this new version of the classic book retains the original qualities and is again essential reading for all those interested in learning what role the law plays in international affairs. The reader will find chapters on traditional and contemporary topics such as: the basis of international obligation, the role of the UN and the International Criminal Court, the emergence of new states, the acquisition of territory, the principles covering national jurisdiction and immunities, the law of treaties, the different ways of settling international disputes, and the rules on resort to force and the prohibition of aggression.

To the new student of international law, the subject can appear extremely complex: a system of laws created by states, international courts and tribunals operating at the national and global level. A clear guide to the subject is essential to ensure understanding. This handbook provides exactly that: written by an expert who both teaches and practises in the field, it focuses on what the law is; how it is created; and how it is applied to solve day-to-day problems. It offers a practical approach to the subject, giving it relevance and immediacy. The new edition retains a concise, user-friendly format allowing central principles such as jurisdiction and the law of treaties to be understood. In addition, it explores more specialised topics such as human rights, terrorism and the environment. This handbook is the ideal introduction for students new to international law.

Cases and Materials on International Law

This is the eighth edition of Sir Ian Brownlie's classic distillation of public international law. Serving as a single volume introduction to the field as a whole, the book seeks to present international law as a system that is based on, and helps structure, relations among states and otherentities at the international level. It aims to identify the constituent elements of that system in a clear and accessible fashion.This eighth edition, fully updated by James Crawford, Whewell Professor of International Law at the University of Cambridge, continues to provide the balance, clarity and expertise expected from this classic text. Completely updated to take account of the many areas of expansion and development ininternational law which have occurred since earlier editions, all chapters have been reviewed and brought up to date. The eighth edition features a new introduction and the chapters on environmental law, immunities, responsibility, use of force and high seas freedoms have been substantiallyrewritten.It remains an important textbook for students, undergraduate and graduate, treating core issues from a lawyer's perspective. It is also a vade mecum for practitioners desiring a solid footing on which to make further enquiries.

Malcolm Shaw's engaging and authoritative International Law has become the definitive textbook for instructors and students alike, in this increasingly popular field of academic study. The hallmark writing style provides a stimulating account, motivating students to explore the subject more fully, while maintaining detail and academic rigour. The analysis integrated in the textbook challenges students to develop critical thinking skills. The sixth edition is comprehensively updated throughout and is carefully constructed to reflect current teaching trends and course coverage. The International Court of Justice is now examined in a separate dedicated chapter and there is a new chapter on international criminal law. The detailed references and reliable, consistent commentary which distinguished previous editions remain, making this essential reading for all students of international law whether they be at undergraduate level, postgraduate level or professional lawyers.

Of all legal subjects, international law is at once the most richly varied and arguably the least understood, even by lawyers. For the past two decades it has been the focus of intense analysis by legal philosophers, international relations specialists, linguists, professional lawyers, historians, economists, and political scientists, as well as those who study, teach, and practice the discipline. Yet, the realities of international trade and communication mean that regulations in one State often directly affect matters within others. In the established tradition of the Clarendon Law Series, International Law is both an introduction to the subject and a critical consideration of its central themes and debates. The book explores the scope and function of international law, and explains how it helps to underpin our international political and economic systems. It then goes on to examine the wider theoretical implications of international law's role in modern society, including issues such as the independence of states, limits of national freedom of choice, human rights, and international crime.

The eighth edition of the leading textbook on jurisprudence contains extracts from the works of more than a hundred jurists. These are supported by detailed introductory sections which give background and critical insight into the texts.

H L A Hart's The Concept of Law is the classic text for the study of jurisprudence and legal philosophy and is probably the most important work of legal philosophy written this century.This second edition is particularly valuable as it combines Hart's original text with a postscript, in which he responds to criticisms of his theory levelled by such notable scholars as Dworkin, Fuller and Finnis. Written by him but only discovered after his death, it has been ably edited by JosephRaz and Penelope Bulloch of Balliol College, Oxford.

Reprint of the first edition. This classic work by the important Austrian jurist is the fullest exposition of his enormously influential pure theory of law, which includes a theory of the state. It also has an extensive appendix that discusses the pure theory in comparison with the law of nature, positivism, historical natural law, metaphysical dualism and scientific-critical philosophy. "The scope of the work is truly universal. It never loses itself in vague generalities or in unconnected fragments of thought. On the contrary, precision in the formulation of details and rigorous system are characteristic features of the exposition: only a mind fully concentrated upon that logical structure can possibly follow Kelsen's penetrating analysis. Such a mind will not shrink from the effort necessary for acquainting itself with...the pure theory of law in its more general aspects, and will then pass over to the theory of the state which ends up with a carefully worked out theory of international law." Julius Kraft, American Journal of International Law 40 (1946):496. Possibly the most influential jurisprudent of the twentieth century, Hans Kelsen 1881-1973] was legal adviser to Austria's last emperor and its first republican government, the founder and permanent advisor of the Supreme Constitutional Court of Austria, and the author of Austria's Constitution, which was enacted in 1920, abolished during the Anschluss, and restored in 1945. He was the author of more than forty books on law and legal philosophy. Active as a teacher in Europe and the United States, he was Dean of the Law Faculty of the University of Vienna and taught at the universities of Cologne and Prague, the Institute of International Studies in Geneva, Harvard, Wellesley, the University of California at Berkeley, and the Naval War College.

Legal Philosophies has been written to provide a clear guide to the main topics in a jurisprudence or legal theory course with the novice in mind. It provides summaries of the pertinent arguments within these topics, and of the views of leading theorists. This new edition takes a look at the emergence of 'critical legal studies' and 'feminist jurisprudence', whilst there are new sections on 'moral truth' and 'communitarianism' (a revived theoretical approach).Contents:1. What is Jurisprudence About? 2. Natural Law and Moral Truth 3. The Command Theory of Law 4. Utilitarianism and the Economic Analysis of Law 5. Punishment 6. Kelson's Pure Theory of Law 7. Legal Concepts 8. Legal Realism and Critical Legal Studies 9. Hart's Concept of Law 10. Freedom and the Enforcement of Morals 11. The Morality of Law and the Rule of Law 12. Statutory Interpretation 13. Precedent 14. Dworkin's Rights Thesis 15. Legal Reasoning 16. The Duty to Obey the Law 17. The Historical School and Non-state Law 18. Sociological Jurisprudence 19. Law, Social Theory and Marxist Jurisprudence 20. Justice: Liberal, Communitarian and Feminist Index

This incisive book deals with the use of the criminal law to enforce morality, in particular sexual morality, a subject of particular interest and importance since the publication of the Wolfenden Report in 1957. Professor Hart first considers John Stuart Mill's famous declaration: "The only purpose for which power can be rightfully exercised over any member of a civilized community is to prevent harm to others." During the last hundred years this doctrine has twice been sharply challenged by two great lawyers: Sir James Fitzjames Stephen, the great Victorian judge and historian of the common law, and Lord Devlin, who both argue that the use of the criminal law to enforce morality is justified. The author examines their arguments in some detail, and sets out to demonstrate that they fail to recognize distinction of vital importance for legal and political theory, and that they espouse a conception of the function of legal punishment that few would now share.

This new edition of Jurisprudence brings the book fully up to date and incorporates the following new topics: Utilitarianism, Scandinavian realism, Feminism, Liberalism, the New Critics, and the Hart v Dworkin debate. It also includes a separate chapter on Dworkin's Law's Empire, and the previous chapter on Rights has been substantially revised, to make this a useful and highly readable addition to the student's library.

In the last twenty five years, company law in the Commonwealth Caribbean has undergone dramatic changes, from a model influenced by English law to a new, harmonised collection of regional legislation based on the Caricom and CLI model Acts that vary substantially across Caricom member states. The variation within Caribbean company law presents an enormous challenge, both in terms of the breadth of the subject and in addressing the difference in provisions of one state¿s Company Law Act as opposed to another. Using the Caricom model Act and CLI model Act as a basis for its structure, Commonwealth Caribbean Company Law examines and compares regional implementation of company law in an accessible and comprehensive manner that will be invaluable to students and practitioners in the region.

The fourth edition of Company Law brings clarity and sophisticated analysis to the ever-changing landscape of company law. Hannigan captures the dynamism of the subject, places the material in context, highlights its relevance and topicality, and guides students through all the major areasstudied at undergraduate level.The book is divided into five distinct sections covering corporate structure (including legal personality and constitutional issues), corporate governance (including directors' duties and liabilities), shareholders' rights and remedies (including powers of decision-making and shareholderengagement), corporate finance (including share and loan capital), and corporate rescue and restructuring (including liabilities arising on insolvency).The author's accessible writing style and comprehensive approach to the subject makes this an idea textbook for students of company law.

Hicks and Goo's Cases and Materials on Company Law guides students through the complexities of company law with a broad selection of source materials, extracts from governmental and non-governmental sources as well as traditional cases and materials that are placed in context with clearcommentary.It covers all the principal areas of company law including corporate governance issues and securities and insolvency. The book concentrates on how the law facilitates and regulates the operation of companies, both large and small, reflecting the realities of current practice.Each section is preceded by a concise introduction to help students understand the significance of the material presented. Similarly, each case is preceded by a statement of its legal significance and a summary of the main facts.The book has been fully updated to include classic materials whilst retaining the breadth of sources. The contents have been restructured to reflect the way the course is taught and chapter introductions have been developed to place each chapter in context and examine how these relate to the subjectas a whole.

Tried and tested by undergraduate law students across the UK. 94% of students polled agree that Law Express helps them to revise effectively and take exams with confidence. 88% agree that Law Express helps them to understand key concepts quickly. Make your answer stand out with Law Express, the UK's bestselling law revision series. Review the key cases, statutes and legal terms you need to know for your exam. Improve your exam performance with helpful advice on effective revision. Maximise your marks with tips for advanced thinking and further debate. Avoid losing marks by understanding common pitfalls. Practise answering sample questions and find guidance for structuring strong answers. Hone your exam technique further with additional study materials on the companion website.

Corporate governance initiatives have been developing at a rapid pace in the Commonwealth Caribbean through legislation, case law and codes. Commonwealth Caribbean Corporate Governance offers an overview of current practice and legal developments in corporate governance, highlighting the interpretation of the legislation through case law and the codes of corporate governance which have now been implemented. It also considers the challenges which emerging markets face in an attempt to adopt the corporate governance initiatives of developed markets. This text explores the emergence and development of corporate governance in the region from a range of angles, including the protection and empowerment of shareholders, the impact on government agencies, and the role and responsibilities of directors and officers in companies and in government agencies. Written by a panel of academics, legal practitioners and experts working in business, this book will be an invaluable resource for judges, lawyers, corporate executives and students of business, corporate law and corporate management.

The fourth edition of Company Law brings clarity and sophisticated analysis to the ever-changing landscape of company law. Hannigan captures the dynamism of the subject, places the material in context, highlights its relevance and topicality, and guides students through all the major areasstudied at undergraduate level.The book is divided into five distinct sections covering corporate structure (including legal personality and constitutional issues), corporate governance (including directors' duties and liabilities), shareholders' rights and remedies (including powers of decision-making and shareholderengagement), corporate finance (including share and loan capital), and corporate rescue and restructuring (including liabilities arising on insolvency).The author's accessible writing style and comprehensive approach to the subject makes this an idea textbook for students of company law.

Alastair Hudson's Equity and Trustsis an ideal textbook for undergraduate courses on the law of trusts and equitable remedies. It provides a clear, current and comprehensive account of the subject through which the author's enthusiasm and expertise shine through, helping to bring to life an area of the law which students often find difficult. Beginning with the core principles, Alastair Hudson reinforces the key points by means of clear examples throughout each chapter, helping students to build and develop their own knowledge of equity and trusts. A set of lively, discursive essays reflecting on the law then begin to outline the broader political, social and economic context of the subject and encourage the reader to begin to engage with their own critical analysis. The eighth edition of Equity and Trustswill be edited and updated to include discussion of the key developments in the subject since publication of the seventh edition in 2012, including the latest case law and potential for regulation relating to cohabitation and shared ownership as well as cases arising in the light of the enforcement of the Charities Act 2006.

The law of trusts is a subject of considerable importance in the Commonwealth Caribbean. Traditional areas, such as testamentary trusts, resulting and constructive trusts, and charitable trusts, are now fully incorporated into the mainstream substantive law of the region, while the principles associated with offshore trust regimes are constantly expanding and developing. This book has been updated to reflect new case law and legislation, and to highlight recent trends relating to both traditional and offshore trusts.

Principles of Equity and Trusts is a concise new textbook from Alastair Hudson - the author of the definitive classic, Equity and Trusts. Through clear and careful analysis, the author explains what the law is, its foundational principles, and its social and economic effect. By beginning with the core principles on which this field is based, even the most complex academic debates concerning express, resulting and constructive trusts, the family home, charities law and other equitable doctrines become comprehensible and interesting. This book offers a fresh, lively and often humorous account of Equity and Trusts. Through easy-to-follow worked examples and analysis of the case law, Alastair helps you to answer problem questions and to prepare coursework. The author shows how the law affects real people in real situations. Each chapter begins with a clear and concise introduction to the core principles. It contains numbered headings for ease of navigation and advice on studying this subject. Students also have access to Professor Hudson's ever-popular supporting website which has had hundreds of thousands of hits over the years. It has over 50 brief podcasts on key issues which have been specially re-recorded to coincide with the publication of this book. That website also contains detailed lectures, a variety of videos explaining the law and guidance on tackling assessments. Characterised by the passion and enthusiasm for his subject matter that make Alastair Hudson's classic textbook so popular, Principles of Equity and Trusts is sure to be a winner with both academics and students alike.

Understanding Equity & Trusts provides a clear, accessible and lively overview of the main themes in this dynamic area of the law. An ideal first point of entry to the subject or revision tool, this book will give you an invaluable grounding in all of the key principles of equity and the law of trusts. If you need help with trusts law, then this is the book for you. This book covers all of the topics that a student reader will encounter in any trusts law or equity course. The text deals with express trusts, resulting and constructive trusts, the duties of trustees, breach of trust and tracing, commercial uses of trusts, charities, equitable remedies and trusts of homes. The law of trusts is built on simple basic principles. The approach of this book is to lay foundations with an explanation of those principles before building towards the more complex issues which are the focus of examinations in this subject. The lively text includes a large number of straightforward examples to make the discussion of the general law more accessible.

Alastair Hudson's Equity and Trustsis an ideal textbook for undergraduate courses on the law of trusts and equitable remedies. It provides a clear, current and comprehensive account of the subject through which the author's enthusiasm and expertise shine through, helping to bring to life an area of the law which students often find difficult. Beginning with the core principles, Alastair Hudson reinforces the key points by means of clear examples throughout each chapter, helping students to build and develop their own knowledge of equity and trusts. A set of lively, discursive essays reflecting on the law then begin to outline the broader political, social and economic context of the subject and encourage the reader to begin to engage with their own critical analysis. The eighth edition of Equity and Trustswill be edited and updated to include discussion of the key developments in the subject since publication of the seventh edition in 2012, including the latest case law and potential for regulation relating to cohabitation and shared ownership as well as cases arising in the light of the enforcement of the Charities Act 2006.

This important new text is the product of several years of research of the family law of fifteen Commonwealth Caribbean jurisdictions. It is the first and only legal text that comprehensively covers all the main substantive areas of spousal family law, including marriage, divorce, financial support, property rights and domestic violence. The rights of the statutory spouse in the jurisdictions of Barbados, Belize, Guyana, Jamaica, and Trinidad and Tobago are examined, thus addressing, on a jurisdictional basis, an important area of spousal family that is seldom covered in English family law texts. The book also covers the number and variations of divorce regimes applicable to the region - the matrimonial offence divorce model of Guyana and Montserrat, the English five fact model of Trinidad and Tobago, Dominica, Grenada, Anguilla, and St Vincent and the Grenadines, the hybrid model of Antigua and Barbuda, Belize and St Kitts and Nevis, and the no fault model of Jamaica and Barbados. This book will prove an indispensable resource for law students and legal academics, as well as for family law practitioners across the English-speaking Caribbean. Other professionals, including sociologists and social workers, will also find the book useful and informative.

Relied on by generations of students and practitioners alike, Bromley's Family Law remains the definitive guide to the subject.Updated by experts in the area, Nigel Lowe and Gillian Douglas provide an accurate, detailed yet highly readable account of family law. The text presents a broad and comprehensive treatment of the key issues relating to adult and child law in a clear and distilled manner. Regular headings break upthe text and allow easy navigation and quick reference for both students new to the subject and those in practice.The new edition has been fully edited and updated to take account of the latest case law and legislation, while also reflecting new debates and emerging issues in the area. Particular attention is also paid to the increasingly significant international dimension of family law, with a new chapter onthis area added to the 11th edition.

A comprehensive study of elements of child law in the Commonwealth Caribbean. It covers legitimacy, status of children legislation, parental rights, maintenance, family provision and succession to property, custody, adoption and care and protection issues.

Children: The Modern Law is well-established as the leading textbook dealing comprehensively with the law and policy relating to children in the UK. This third edition has been extensively revised and updated to take account of significant legislative changes that have occurred since the second edition, including the Adoption and Children Act 2002, the Sexual Offences Act 2003, and the impact of the Human Rights Act 1998. It also includes coverage of other important developments such as the Council of Europe Convention on Contact Concerning Children and case law concerning contact; reform of the child support legislation; the introduction of Special Guardianship; changes to the law governing the parental responsibility of unmarried fathers; and significant case law including Re A (Children)(Conjoined Twins: Surgical Separation).

This new edition to the series will provide an up-to-date textbook covering a wide-range of employment and labour law issues which affect the Commonwealth Caribbean. Initially the book will embark on a comparative analysis of employment and labour law in Jamaica, Trinidad and Barbados, as a reference point for distinguishing the laws of other Commonwealth Caribbean jurisdictions. The book will continue to examine how the law operates within the legal systems of the Caribbean, taking into account the umbilical link to British jurisprudence and the persuasive precedent of other Commonwealth jurisdictions, and the impact this has had on the growth and development of the area. Commonwealth Caribbean Employment and Labour Law will be essential reading for students enrolled on Employment Law, Discrimination and Dismissal Law courses in the Caribbean.  

Textbook on Labour Law explores both the practical aspects of labour law and the theoretical issues and also considers future developments in this fast moving area of law. Covering all essential areas of employment and labour law, this text is the ideal resource for students studying law degrees.

This book contains a mass of legal and practical information within a compact, user-friendly format, providing a concise introduction to the law relating to termination of employment.Written by experienced practitioners, Termination of Employment is an invaluable aide-memoire for the busy practitioner, providing practical advice on all stages of an unfair dismissal case, from considering the merits (or demerits) of the claim to presenting the case before an employment tribunal and appealing (or defending an appeal) to the EAT. The text is supported throughout by an array of helpful checklists. Fully up-to-date, the book provides coverage of important developments in the field since the last edition, such as the 2009 ACAS Code of Practice on Disciplinary and Grievance Procedures.

This book provides undergraduate students with a substantial view of intellectual property law, dealing with principles, academic issues and practical considerations.

This book provides students with an excellent foundation in intellectual property law. Focussing on six main areas of patents, copyright, industrial designs, confidential information, and unregistered/registered trademarks, it places the topic in its wider context, examining technological developments, globalisation, as well as key ethical issues.

The Caribbean faces environmental problems suffered throughout the world, but also a unique set of challenges. The petroleum and bauxite industries and tourist trade have traditionally gone largely unregulated in the region, threatening pristine coasts and scarce natural resources. Now, as the region seeks to improve management and regulation, a clear guide to Caribbean environmental law is desperately needed.   Principles of Caribbean Environmental Law provides that resource. The book explores international environmental law as it relates to the Caribbean, administrative law, and the common law of property and torts. It addresses issues from town planning to pollution regulation to waste management. And it examines marine and coastal governance: particularly critical to an economy built on beach tourism. This volume will be an indispensable resource for anyone concerned with the future of the Caribbean's natural landscape.

The increasing threat of pollution of the Caribbean Sea and the Gulf of Mexico necessitates the adoption of coping measures in the wider Caribbean. In the context of examining the internal workings of UNEP's environmental programme in the region, the Law of Caribbean Marine Pollution provides a lucid account of measures adopted to date and those that remain urgently needed, with a view toward referencing the laws of all of the countries of the wider Caribbean.
Written by a law lecturer at the University of the West Indies, this book clearly sets out the legal framework governing the measures needed to address the kinds of pollution problems that may threaten sustainable development in the Caribbean. It looks at prevention per se, responsibilities and rights during pollution emergencies, and law governing liability and compensation, all from a global, regional, and national perspective.
It is therefore an unmatched resource for Caribbean policy makers, providers of institutional support, Caribbean environmental law students and practitioners, and all those interested in evaluating regional solutions to developmental problems.

Life Insurance Law in the Caribbean Commonwealth, 2nd edition provides a unique amalgam of the many influences that go to make life insurance law in the Commonwealth Caribbean. Providing a comprehensive study of the English law of life insurance as it applies in Trinidad and Tobago, it deals with the relevance of the doctrines and terminologies it has absorbed and adopted from other jurisdictions and provides a detailed overview of the many crucial issues of modern life insurance law including- Lapse and forfeiture of life policies and application of the doctrine waiver; The legal framework governing group life policies and the common law; Statutory treatment of names beneficiaries New Case Law - New Legislation - New Content Now in its second edition, this authoritative work has been thoroughly updated and revised to take account of all relevant case law and legislative changes and development. New coverage in this edition includes- The treatment of the new statutory provisions dealing with beneficiary designations; The decision of the Court of Appeal in Trinidad and Tobago in the case of Cheong v Board of Inland Revenue; The repeal of the English Life Insurance Act of 1774; The decision of the Court of Appeal in Trinidad and Tobago in the case of Bank of Commerce of Trinidad and Tobago Limited v Lakhan; The new forms of life policies; The question of insurable interest; The issue of policies being used as instruments to extract bonuses in a tax free manner in Trinidad and Tobago; The presumption against suicide. This is essential reading for all insurance company staff, insurance brokers, solicitors, accountants, tax consultants and financial planners throughout the Commonwealth.

This book sets out in a clear and concise manner the central principles of insurance law in the Caribbean, guiding students through the complexities of the subject. This book features, among several other key themes, extensive coverage of: insurance regulation; life insurance; property insurance; contract formation; intermediaries; the claims procedure; and analysis of the substantive laws of several jurisdictions. Commonwealth Caribbean Insurance Lawis essential reading for LLB students in Caribbean universities, students in CAPE Law courses, and practitioners. ;lt;/P>

This classic textbook has provided students of medical law and ethics with a framework for exploring this fascinating subject for over 30 years. Providing coverage of all of the topics found on medical law courses, it gives an overview of the inter-relationship between ethical medical practiceand the law.Medical law is significantly shaped by the courts, and as such this book

Embryo research, cloning, assisted conception, neonatal care, saviour siblings, organ transplants, drug trials - modern developments have transformed the field of medicine almost beyond recognition in recent decades and the law struggles to keep up. In this highly acclaimed and very accessible book, Margaret Brazier and Emma Cave provide an incisive survey of the legal situation in areas as diverse as fertility treatment, patient consent, euthanasia and the definition of death, malpractice and medical privacy. The fifth edition of this book has been fully revised and updated to cover the latest cases and guidance on assisted suicide; recent legislation such as the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Act 2008; new provisions designed to improve professional regulation, patient safety and offer aggrieved patients effective redress; and the Coalition government's white paper Liberating the NHS and its suite of supporting reforms proposals. Medicine, Patients and the Law is the essential guide to help practitioners, students of law and medicine and the layperson find their way around this complex subject, and the extensive legislation and case-law pertaining to it. 'An absorbing book which, in addition to being accessible to the general read, should prove illuminating for practitioners - both medical and legal - an ideal accompaniment to student courses on law and medicine' New Law Journal 'The legal issues are explained extremely clearly; and intelligible reference is made to the most important decisions of the courts' The Times Higher Education Supplement 'Strikingly readable' Nursing Times

This book highlights the tremendous shift in the traditional arrangements for the delivery of civil justice in the Commonwealth Caribbean, from litigation to alternative dispute resolution (ADR) processes. Over the last quarter of a century, much learning has taken place on the topic of ADR and the literature on the subject is now voluminous. This book puts forward the thesis that the peculiar experiences of the developing world ought to help reshape our traditional notions of ADR. Furthermore, the impact of globalisation on the developing world has brought with it special and peculiar challenges to our notions of civil and criminal justice which are not replicated elsewhere. This book will appeal to a wide readership. The legal profession, students of law and politics, social scientists, mediators, the police, state officers and the public at large will find its contents of interest.

The worlds bestselling guide to negotiation Getting to Yes has been in print for over thirty years and in that time has helped millions of people secure winwin agreements both at work and in their private lives Including principles such as Dont bargain over positions Separate the people from the problem and Insist on objective criteria Getting to Yes simplifies the whole negotation process offering a highly effective framework that will ensure success

Textbook on International Human Rights provides a concise introduction for students new to the subject.Clearly written and broad in scope, this popular text gives a concise introduction to international human rights, including regional systems of protection and the key substantive rights. The author skilfully guides you through the complexities of the subject, making it accessible to those withlittle or no prior legal knowledge. Key cases and areas of debate are highlighted throughout, and a wealth of references to cases and further readings provided at the end of each chapter.Textbook on International Human Rights continues to be relied upon by students worldwide as the first book to turn to for clear and accurate coverage.This book is accompanied by an Online Resource Centre, which features an online casebook, updates in the law, and an annotated list of web links to help with your research.

The definitive work in the field, International Human Rights provides a comprehensive analysis of this wide and diverse subject area. Written by world-renowned scholars Philip Alston and Ryan Goodman, this book is the successor to the widely acclaimed International Human Rights in Context. Alston and Goodman have chosen a wide selection of materials from primary and secondary sources--legislation, case law, and academic writings--in order to demonstrate and illuminate key themes. They carefully guide students through each extract with thoughtful and lucid commentary. Questions are posed throughout the book in order to encourage deeper reflection and critical enquiry. A Companion Website features additional resources, including the first three chapters of the book, available for download.

How human rights principles, like the right to gender identity, freedom, integrity and equality, respond to the concerns of different groups of adults and children who experience gender harm due to the binary conception of sexuality and gender identity is the overall theme of this book. The Yogyakarta Principles on the Application of International Human Rights Law in Relation to Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity are analysed in the light of the dynamic jurisprudence of different human rights treaty bodies. Whether and how the status quo of gender duality is reproduced, in spite of international law's growing recognition of the multiplicity of sexualities and gender identities, is discussed. How transgender men, in countries that permit legal gender change, have been successfully prosecuted for gender fraud by female partners claiming to be unaware of their gender history is given attention. While human rights discourse related to LGBTI persons so far has been moulded on the experiences of adults this book gives voice to the concerns of gender-non confirming children. The jurisprudence of the Child Rights Committee, with focus on the complex social and legal issues faced by gender non-confirming children, is addressed. Through narratives, that give voice to these children's experiences, the book demonstrates how the legal gender assigned at birth impacts on their feeling of recognition, self-confidence and self-respect in the private, social, and legal spheres. This book was previously published as a special issue of the Nordic Journal of Human Rights.

Human rights law is a complex but compelling subject that fascinates, but often confuses, students. International Human Rights Law and Practice explores the subject from a theoretical and practical perspective, guiding students to a rich understanding of the law. The second edition has been fully revised and updated, including two new chapters on children's rights and international criminal law, and new sections on a variety of topics, including the right to equality, the protection of refugees and the effect of foreign investment and sovereign debt on the enjoyment of human rights. In addition, new case studies and interviews with practitioners, NGO activists and policymakers show how theory is applied in real life. Student learning is supported by questions to stimulate seminar discussion and further reading sections that encourage independent study. The authors' clear and engaging writing style ensures that this new edition will continue to be required reading for all students of human rights law.

Now in its third edition, Commonwealth Caribbean Business Law continues to break away from the traditional English approach of treating business law primarily as the law of contract and agency. Taking a panoramic view, it explores the foundation of various legal systems before examining areas of legal liability that affect business activities. These include areas such as contract law, tort law, criminal law, agency and internet law which present significant challenges confronting the business sector. The book primarily targets the development of business law principles in several Caribbean Commonwealth jurisdictions but, where appropriate, also embraces the jurisprudence of other Commonwealth nations, such as the United Kingdom, Canada and Australia. It also explores the United States as a non-Commonwealth jurisdiction, given the increasing importance in the Caribbean of judicial pronouncements relating to internet law from this territory. Using excerpts from key judgments, the book allows students, particularly those with a non-legal background, to understand key legal principles for business as presented by the judiciary and draws parallels between legal theory and business practice.