Skip to main content



Law Collection Guide: Home

This guide will assist anyone seeking help in locating materials held in the Law Collection of the Harry C. Moore Library

UB Libraries

About The Law Collection

In August 2000, the Law Library, now known as the Law Collection, was established when the then College of The Bahamas now, University of The Bahamas implemented an LL.B. program in collaboration with Barbados’ Cave Hill Campus of the University of the West Indies (UWI). The Law Collection began with less than 200 items. Nearly 18 years later, the collection has expanded to include more than 12,000 items, inclusive of materials on reserve, and the general circulating collection. It also contains more than eight Caribbean-specific law journals. Additionally, law journals are available in print and full text through the library’s online databases. In April 2011, with the completion of the state of the art Harry C. Moore Library and Information Centre, the Law Collection was integrated with the main campus library located on the 2nd floor. The Law Collection can accommodate 125 students and has 10 computer stations with Internet access, four of which are reserved for law students only.

Generally, the mission of the Law Collection (Library) encompasses the overall Harry C. Moore’s Library and Information Centre’s mission which also includes the overall mission of the University of the Bahamas. More specifically, the library supports the information needs of the faculty and students in the University of the Bahamas’, LL.B program. The Library’s needs are inclusive of providing reserve reading materials, articles and any additional resource materials pertaining to LL.B classes. Moreover, the Library also facilitates and aid in proving resources to UB students and faculty in Associates in Criminal Justice and Law program specifically and in many other related areas as well. Further, the library also maintains an ongoing relationship with the other law libraries in the Commonwealth of the Bahamas, and law libraries in the Caribbean specifically UWI’s Cave Hill Campus’ Law Library, Eugene Dupuch Law School’s Library, the Office of the Attorney General & Ministry of Legal Affairs’ Library, the Court of Appeals of the Commonwealth of The Bahamas ‘Library and the Supreme Court of the Commonwealth of The Bahamas’ Law Collection.

Since the its inception in 2000 the Library strives to be an outstanding resource for the law community and for the Bahamian populace as relates to Bahamian and relevant Caribbean and international law. The goal of the Library is to remain on the cutting edge as relates to the law in the Bahamas by ensuring that its collection is updated regularly and that the access to same is adequately marketed utilizing social media etc., throughout the legal community in keeping with the relevant intellectual property rights and restrictions considering the ultimate goal of educating and providing resources in print and electronic formats for the legal minds of the Bahamian community. 

Resources

The Law Collection comprises materials in electronic and print format. Print resources include: updated law reports, law journals, law articles, Bahamas unreported judgments, Industrial Tribunal unreported judgments, The Bahamas’ Gazettes (inclusive of its Statutory Instruments and Acts) and text books on various law disciplines relevant to the LL.B. program offered at The University of The Bahamas.The Law Collection primarily serves University of the Bahamas students as well as Law Faculty, Alumni and by extension, Attorneys-at- Law, Paralegals for a small fee

Hours of Operation

 Monday-Thursday: 8:00 am- 9:00 pm.

  Friday: 9:30 am. - 6:00 pm.

Saturday: 9:00 am. - 5:00 pm.

Sunday: 1:00 pm. - 5:00 pm

For more information please contact the Law Reference Desk:

(242) 677-3227

Covid 19

Law Collection Staff

Jeanne Slowe graduated from the University of the West Indies, Jamaica with a B.A. in Library Studies and subsequently   joined the staff of the Council of Legal Education, Norman Manley Law  School, Kingston, Jamaica as a Senior Library Assistant. She was  later awarded an OAS Fellowship which enabled her to study for the Masters in Library and Information Science (MSLIS) at Pratt Institute, New York.  On her return to the Law School, she was  promoted to Assistant Librarian. She pursued studies  for the Bachelor of Laws  degree as an External Student of the University of London and later gained the Certificate of Legal Education from the Norman Manley Law School.  She was called to the Jamaican Bar in 2007. She continued to serve the Council of Legal Education as Law Librarian at the Eugene Dupuch Law School, Nassau, from 2014-2017.Her most recent engagement was an interim librarian at the Faculty of Law, Mona Campus from January – June 2018. She served as co-editor of the Caribbean Criminal Law Digest, a publication compiling digests of important cases in criminal law from Caribbean countries. She has presented at several Annual Conferences of the Caribbean Association of Law Libraries (CARALL) and was Secretary of that Association from 1997-2000 and Editor of the Association’s Bulletin from 1988-1990. She is a member of The Library and Information Association of Jamaica (LIAJA);  the Caribbean Association of Law Libraries (CARALL);  the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) and the Jamaican bar Association (JAMBAR).

Glenelle Scantlebury

Chief Library Assistant

(242) 302-4213

glenelle.scantlebury@ub.edu.bs

Glenelle Scantlebury has been with the library for over 20 years and has worked in many facets of the library. She has an Associate’s degree and is currently pursuing her Bachelor’s degree at UB

 

 

 

 

Articles About the Law Collection

Dina, Y. (2002). Law libraries in The Bahamas. Legal Information Management, 2(4), 23-25. doi:10.1017/S1472669600001419​

 

Adams, E. A. (2015). The Law Collection (formerly the Law Library) of Library and Instructional Media Services at the College of the Bahamas. The International Journal of Bahamian Studies, 20(2), 48-50.