Skip to Main Content

Women's Suffrage: Interviewees


Interviewees, In Order of Appearance

Amanda “Mama Gold” Adderley                     Frances Ledee                         
Dorothy Marshall Lawrence Glinton
Dame Joan Sawyer, DCMG Rose Mae Thompson
Rubyann Cooper-Darling Peter Graham, CMG
F. Marina D’Aguilar Peter Maynard
Sonia Kelly Cynthia Allyson Donaldson
Alma Trotman Dame Marguerite Pindling, DCMG
Honourable Arthur D. Hanna Ruth Ingraham
His Excellency Sir Arthur A. Foulkes, GCMG Hilda Cooper
June Stevenson Patsy Wring
Lynn Holowesko, CBE Myrtle Murphy
Dr. Eugene Newry Althea Huyler
Idell Reckley Barbara Brooks
Alfreda Hepburn Justice Maxwell Thompson
Helen Reid Rev. Dr. Kenris Carey
Lionel Carey Godfrey K. Kelly, CMG
Dr. Gail Saunders Olga Reid
Dame Dr. Ivy Dumont, DCMG Una Cambridge
Alice Ingraham-Rolle Justice Jeanne Thompson
Sir Clement T. Maynard, KCMG Joan Hanna
C.V. Hope Strachan Effie Walkes
Juliette J. Barnwell Theresa Moxey-Ingraham
Wallis Carey Janet Bostwick

Dr. Pamela F. Etuk – Dr. Doris Johnson
Cecilia Cooper – Reader of the 1952 Elks’ petition
Maria Butler – Mary Ingraham
Claudette “Cookie” Allens – Althea Mortimer

Many thanks to the following individuals who also gave their time and intellectual resources in interviews:
Gertrude Burnside
Ethelee Cleare
Lillian Coakley
Betty Cole
Rev. Beryl Culmer
Bernice Eneas
Leona Ferrier
Grace Gibson
Wealthy Gomez
June Hanna
Myrtle Hanna
Althea Huyler
Diana Johnson
Joan Lightbourn
Persis Rodgers
Mrs. Stubbs