NURS 234 / NULB 235 Maternal and Newborn Health Nursing: Home

COURSE DESCRIPTION

Students focus on the woman during the preconception, antepartum, intrapartum and postpartum periods. Students apply the nursing process in the promotion of health and management of the childbearing family.

SPECIFIC OBJECTIVES

Upon successful completion of this course, students will be able to

1. Discuss current trends.
2. Explain the role of the family in relation to child bearing and child rearing.
3. Promote women’s health issues during the child bearing years.
4. Describe the physiology of fetal growth and development.
5. Discuss the management of the woman during the antepartum, intrapartum and postpartum periods; and
6. Discuss the management of the new-born from birth to 28 days.;

WEBSITES & APPS

Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses. (2017). AWHONN [website]. https://www.awhonn.org/

Hospital for Sick Children. (2017). Motherisk [website]. http://www.motherisk.org/prof/index.jsp

Barrington, K. J. (2017). Neonatal research [weblog]. https://neonatalresearch.org/

Merck manual professional version. (2017).  http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional

Safe pregnancy and birth mobile app. http://hesperian.org/books-and-resources/safe-pregnancy-and-birth-mobile-app/

Nursing central.

AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

Assessment of the newborn. (2010). The head to toe assessment. – Gestational age and newborn reflexes. Medcom.

Lippincott’s pediatric nursing series. (2006). Growth and development – Communicating with children and families – Care of the hospitalized child. Lippincott.

Pregnancy, labor and delivery. (2004). Pregnancy – Labor and delivery -- Pain control during labor and delivery – Leopold's maneuvers. Delmar Cengage.

Lippincott’s maternity nursing video series. (2006). Prenatal care – Labour and delivery: vaginal birth – Cesarean delivery – Postpartum care. Lippincott.

REQUIRED TEXT(S)

Lowdermilk. L. D., Perry. E.S., Cashion. K., & Alden, R. K. (2016). Maternity & women’s health care. (11th Ed.). Mosby. ISBN 978-0323169189 HBL RESERVE RG951 M318 2016

Bindler, R. C. M. (2017). Clinical skills manual for maternity and pediatric nursing. (5th ed.). Pearson. RESERVE HBL RG951 C57 2017 ISBN 9780134257006

SUPPLEMENTARY READING(S)/MATERIAL(S)

Davidson, M. R. (2016). Olds' maternal-newborn nursing and women's healthcare across the lifespan. (8th ed.). Pearson. HBL RG951 .O4327 2016

Green, C. J. (2016). Maternal newborn nursing care plans. (3rd ed.). Jones and Bartlett. HBL RT49 .G746 2016

Ladewig, P. W., London, M. L., & Davidson, M. R. (2017). Contemporary maternal-newborn nursing care. (9th ed.). Pearson Prentice Hall. HBL RG951 L33 2017

Lowdermilk, D. L. & Perry, S.E. (Eds.). (2013). Maternity nursing. (8th ed.). Mosby Elsevier. HBL RG951 .B66 2013

Rice Simpson, K. & Creehan, P. A. (Eds.). (2013). AWHONN's perinatal nursing.  Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. HBL RG951 A985 2013.

JOURNALS

JOGNN: Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic and Neonatal Nursing. Print holdings plus full text

Journal of Perinatal and Neonatal Nursing. Full text to 2005

MCN: The American Journal of Maternal / Child Nursing. Print

British Journal of Midwifery. Full text 2002-present

*The following are among the most highly cited journals in the maternal-child nursing literature.

American Journal of Public Health. Full text. 1975-present

Birth: Issues in Perinatal Care. Full text 1998-present

Journal of Midwifery and Women’s Health. Print holdings, Full text 2011-present

Maternal & Child Health Journal. Full text 1997-

Nursing Research. Print current subscription

Pediatrics. Full text 2011-present