Skip to Main Content



NURS 113 / NULB 113 Basic Pharmacology and Pharmacology Lab: Home

National Emergency Library - Pharmacology

The National Emergency Library on the Internet Archive has a selection of e-books that can support this course.  These books can be borrowed for two weeks.  Registration is required.  Also check the EBSCO e-books collection for titles.  

NURS 113 Course Description

Course Summaries

NURS113 Students will comprehend the principles of pharmacology and apply the mathematical concepts necessary for calculating fluids and medication dosages. Emphasis is on the utilisation of the drug process and ethical and legal obligations of the nurse during drug administration.

 

NULB113 Students will demonstrate the general principles of pharmacology in the administration of medications. Emphasis is on demonstrating the drug process, utilizing ethical and legal concepts in the safe administration of drugs.

Recommended Online Resources

Websites and Apps

Davis's drug guide. 

Drugs.com

PDR: Prescriber digital reference.

Epocrates Rx. - one of the most widely used PDA drug databases. The free version has pill pictures and a unique easy to use pill identification program. There is a dose calculator, selected formulary lists and a robust drug-drug interaction checker. There are over-the-counter (OTC) medications included but herbals are only in the paid subscription version. Drugs can be listed by generic or trade name or by class. Formularies can be selected online and downloaded to your PDA.  It is available for all PDA platforms.

MedlinePlus Drugs, herbals and supplements

Drug calculations for health professionals. 

 

 

NURS 113 Reference Resources and Reading List

Related Library Book Call Numbers

     *RM 125      *RM 262     *RM 300     *RM 301

 

Nursing Reference Center      

The Nursing Reference Center, available through EBSCO, has an electronic version of Davis's Nursing Drug Guide.

 

Required Texts

McCuiston, L. E., Vuljoin-DiMaggio, K., Winton, M. B., & Yeager, J. J. (2018). Pharmacology: A patient-centred nursing process approach. (9th ed.). Elsevier. ISBN 978-0323-399166

Kee, J. L., Hayes, E., & McCuiston, L. E. (2015). Study guide for pharmacology: A nursing process approach. (8th ed.). Elsevier. ISBN 978-1455770533

Supplementary Readings

Adams, M. P., Holland, L. N., & Urban, C. Q. (2017). Pharmacology for nurses : A pathophysiologic approach. (5th ed.). Pearson.  ISBN  9780134255163 

Asperheim, M., & Favaro, J. (2018). Introduction to pharmacology. (13th ed.). Elsevier. ISBN 978-1455726431

Burchum, J. R., & Rosenthal, L. D. (2016). Lehne's pharmacology for nursing care. (9th ed.). Elsevier. ISBN 978-032313321907

Clayton, B. D., & Willihnganz, M. (2017). Basic pharmacology for nurses. (17th ed.). Elsevier.  ISBN 9780323311120 

Dosage calculations made incredibly easy. (2015). (5th ed.). Wolters Kluwer. ISBN 978-1496308375

Gauwitz, D, F. (2015). Administering medications: Pharmacology for health professions.  (8th ed.). Glencoe. ISBN 978-0073513751

Karch, A. M. (2017). Focus on nursing pharmacology. (7th ed.). Wolters Kluwer. ISBN 9781496318213

Lilley, L.L., Collins, S. R., & Snyder, J. S. (2017). Pharmacology and the nursing process. (8th ed.). St. Louis:Elsevier. ISBN 9780323358286 

Moini, J. (2017). Focus on pharmacology: Essentials for health professionals. (3rd ed.). Pearson Education. ISBN 9780134525044

Nursing pharmacology made incredibly easy. (2017). (4th ed.) Wolters Kluwer. ISBN 9781496326324.

 

DVDs - check YouTube for online versions of these videos

Administration of Injections. (2006). Irvine, CA: Concept Media.

Included in Taylor's Video Guide to Clinical Nursing Skills DVD collection (Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer, 2011). : Disc 2. Module 4. Oral and topical medications (88 min.); Module 5. Injectable medications (34 min.); Module 6. Intravenous medications (36 min.); Disc 5. Module 18. Intravenous therapy (56 min.) ; Module 19. Central venous access devices (29 min.).

Medication administration and error prevention. (2005). Irvine, CA: Concept Media

Pharmacodynamics, what a drug does to the body.  (2011). San Luis Obispo, CA : Classroom Productions.

Drug Handbooks For Nurses - these are updated annually - HBL acquires at least two annually.

Nursing YYYY drug handbook. Wolters Kluwer.

Davis's drug guide for nurses. (Latest edition). F.A. Davis.

Saunders nursing drug handbook YYYY. Elsevier.

Mosby's YYYY nursing drug reference. Elsevier.

 

Journals

Numerous journals are available in full text through the CINAHL and Medline databases on EBSCO.  Useful drug information updates are published in: 

American Journal Nursing

Critical Care Nurse

Nursing Made Incredibly Easy

Nursing

Nursing & Allied Health Sciences Librarian / Graduate Studies and Research Liaison Librarian

Profile Photo
Virginia Ballance
Contact:
Room 204
Harry C. Moore Library
Oakes Field Campus,
University of The Bahamas,
Nassau, Bahamas
302-4249

Pill Identifier

Check out the https://pill-id.webpoisoncontrol.org/#/intro

Web Poison Control

EBSCO Tutorials