NURS 117 Health Assessment: Home

COURSE DESCRIPTION

NURS117 Students are introduced to theoretical concepts and beginner level skills relevant to therapeutic communication, health history interview, and documentation when conducting physical assessments in the adult population

NULB117  Students apply concepts and demonstrate skills related to therapeutic communication, health history interviewing and documentation, when conducting physical assessments in the adult population.

Nursing skills and health assessment videos are available on Nursing Reference Centre PLUS. 

DVDs

Check out Youtube for alternate videos for physical examination and health assessment. For example: https://youtu.be/SgwY58YNalc

Bates' visual guide to physical examination - 18 DVDs covering all aspects of physical examination and health assessment.  This collection is now located in the HBL Nursing Research and Reference Room 206  in the Harry C. Moore Library.

• 1. Head-to-Toe Assessment: Adult
• 2. Head-to-Toe Assessment: Infant
• 3. Head-to-Toe Assessment: Child
• 4. Head-to-Toe Assessment: Older Adult
• 5. General Survey and Vital Signs
• 6. Skin
• 7. Head, Eyes, and Ears
• 8. Nose, Mouth, and Neck
• 9. Thorax and Lungs
• 10. Cardiovascular System
• 11. Peripheral Vascular System
• 12. Breasts and Axillae
• 13. Abdomen
• 14. Male Genitalia, Rectum, Anus, and Prostate
• 15. Female Genitalia, Anus, and Rectum
• 16. Musculoskeletal System
• 17. Nervous System: Cranial Nerves and Motor System
• 18. Nervous System: Sensory System and Reflexes

Note that some of the topics of these DVDs may be found on YouTube.

Related Library Book Call Numbers

  *RT48      *RT49      *RC76

Nursing Reference Center Plus      

NRC+ includes many e-books under the tab PRACTICE RESOURCES: drug handbook, care plan book, medical-surgical textbooks as well as video guides to health assessment. Video on how to use NRC+

Dynamed

An evidence-based point of care resource with complete information about every disease and disorder. Useful for health assessment and diagnosis.

Required Texts

Taylor, C., Lynn, P., & Bartlett, J. L. (2018). Fundamentals of nursing: The art and science of person-centred  care. (9th ed.). Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. ISBN 978-1496362179

 LeBon, M. (2018). Study guide for fundamentals of nursing: The art and science of person-centered care. (9th ed.). Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. ISBN 978-1496382542

Supplementary Readings

Weber, J. R. & Kelley, J. H. (2018). Health assessment in nursing. (6th ed.). Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

Wilson, S. F.  & Giddens, J. (2017). Health assessment for nursing practice. (6th ed.). Mosby. HBL Reserve RT48 W44 2017

Estes, M.E.Z. (2014). Health assessment & physical examination. (5th ed.). Delmar/Thomson Learning.

Hogan-Quigley, B., Palm, M. K., & Bickley, L. S. (2012). Bates' nursing guide to physical examination and history taking. Wolters Kluwer.

Journals

Numerous current scholarly journals are available in full text through the CINAHL and Medline databases on EBSCO.

The OVID Nursing database provides full text access to over 50 nursing journals.

The following is a selection of nursing journals that are recommended

AJN: American Journal Nursing (OVID database)

British Journal of Nursing

Nursing Made Incredibly Easy (OVID database)