Deafblindness in Children: Books & E-books

This guide to assistive technology discusses the knowledge and skills educators need to know in order to determine the appropriate use of technology and services to meet the needs of individuals with disabilities. The text provides an overview and introduction to the topic of assistive technology, evaluating various technologies for classroom use, and using assistive technology with special needs students of a diverse range of disabilities, including the young child with special needs, students with high incidence disabilities, positioning and mobility for students with physical disabilities, students with communication disorders, and sensory impairments. It further discusses AT in relation to transitioning, distance learning, and the ethical standards of practice.

This book explores the many different visual disorders, what can cause them, and resources to help deal with the challenges visual impairments can bring.

This edition gives an overview of special education in the United States.

Revised to reflect the realities of today's K-12 classrooms, this book gives teachers all the latest research-based, practical strategies for fully including students with sensory impairments and cognitive and physical disabilities.

For Denzel, sound is a mysterious, mind-stretching thing. He can hear some sounds, but he can't figure out what those sounds mean. Half the time, he just ignores what he hears because none of it makes sense. This book follows Denzel through his journey through deafness. It describes the challenges facing children who are deaf and hard of hearing.

Teaching Social Skills to Students with Visual Impairments explores what theory can tell us about how children who are visually impaired become socially skilled individuals. It then presents a compendium of techniques and strategies for helping youngsters, from preschoolers through young adults, including those with additional disabilities, develop and refine social skills.

Focusing on teaching students with communication disorders, the authors offer practical teaching strategies and provide brief definitions, indicators, and behaviors associated with speech and language disorders.

The fourth edition of Teaching Students with Language and Communication Disabilities explores language development and language disorders within the context of specific disabilities. The text examines language development and disorders in school-age children; analyzes language difficulties associated with specific disabilities, and presents assessment techniques and instructional strategies used in today classrooms.

Learn about assistive technologies, helpful adjustments to school and classroom environments, and effective instructional modifications specifically designed to support students with medical, physical, and multiple disabilities.

This valuable resource offers teachers practical classroom management tips and provides highly effective instruction methods to foster independence in students with visual and hearing impairments.

This book provides the individual working with and caring for children with disabilities the necessary background to understand different disabilities and their treatments, thereby enabling affected children to reach their full potential.

Drawing on recent research, this book presents insights into the needs of children with visual impairments. It sets out the basis for addressing the individual needs of children with such impairments, within the Code of Practice. It includes information about: opthalmics; the identification and assessment of aspects of vision; the roles of different agencies likely to be involved; and a range of practical strategies. Advice is also offered on the use of low vision aids, appropriate decor and physical layouts, lighting conditions and relevant IT.

Fourteen types of special-needs students are discussed in this handbook on meeting the needs of a diverse student population within a mainstream classroom. Ranging from students with behavior disorders, ADHD, and mental retardation to the blind, terminally ill, and gifted and talented, each profile includes a clear definition, characteristic behaviors, and suggestions for working with that student's specific strengths and weaknesses.

In Educating Deaf Students the authors lay out the common assumptions that have driven deaf education for many years, revealing some of them to be based on questionable methods, conclusions, or interpretations, while others have been lost in the cacophony of alternative educational philosophies. They accompany their historical consideration of how this came to pass with an evaluation of the legal and social conditions surrounding deaf education today.

This guide provides parents with strategies for helping a deaf child learn to read and write, offering activities that parents can do at home with their deaf child and suggestions for working with the child's school and teachers. Emphasis is on the developmental link between American Sign Language a

Words were not enough for Tom; it was signs that made sense of a world silenced by meningitis. This work is an account by a woman of how her son contracted meningitis and of the deafness that resulted. It offers a discussion of the issues surrounding deafness from a parental viewpoint.

This guide offers a readable, comprehensive summary of everything a parent or teacher would want to know about raising and educating a deaf child. It covers topics ranging from what it means to be deaf to the many ways that the environments of home and school can influence a deaf child's chances for success in academic and social circles.

The Encyclopedia of Special Education addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field. This completely updated and comprehensive A-Z reference includes about 200 new entries, with increased attention given to those topics that have grown in importance since the publication of the third edition, such as technology, service delivery policies, international issues, neuropsychology, and RTI. The latest editions of assessment instruments frequently administered in special education settings are discussed. Only encyclopedia or comprehensive reference devoted to special education Edited and written by leading researchers and scholars in the field New edition includes over 200 more entries than previous edition, with increased attention given to those topics that have grown in importance since the publication of the third edition such as technology, service delivery policies, international issues, neuropsychology, and Response to Intervention, Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS), Autism and Applied Behavior Analysis Entries will be updated to cover the latest editions of the assessment instruments frequently administered in special education settings. I

This is a handy guide to the topics you need to know about whether studying or working in the field of learning disabilities. The A-Z format allows you to "dip in" and quickly find relevant information on topics ranging from Autism to Rights and from Advocacy to Challenging Behaviors.