Midwifery Programme: Midwifery and Maternal Newborn Health Bibliography

Resources compiled by Clarice Forbes

April 2020

Ardalan, C. (2005). Warm hearts and caring hands: South Florida nursing from frontier to metropolis, 1880-2000. A midwife’s hands (pp. 71). Centennial Press. Call Number: RT5 F6 A73 2005

Abdulah, N. (1986). Births. In The Bahamas and its people a demographic analysis (p.29-31). CARICOM Secretariat. Call Number: West Indian Collection: WI HB958 A23 1986

Abdulah, N. (1986). Cumulative fertility and age. In The Bahamas and its people a demographic analysis (p.132-143). CARICOM Secretariat. Call Number: West Indian Collection: WI HB958 A23 1986

Anderson, E. (2018, May 1). Celebrating midwives. The Tribune. http://www.tribune242.com/news/2018/may/01/celebrating-midwives/

Bahamas Infant Welfare Association. (1931). Annual report. Bahamas Infant Welfare Association. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B RJ103 B24 B34

Bahamas Infant Welfare Association. (1938). Annual report. Bahamas Infant Welfare Association. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B RJ103 B24 B34

Bahamas School of Nursing. (1991). Midwifery program. In Institutional self-study (p. 5). https://ufdcimages.uflib.ufl.edu/AA/00/06/29/52/00001/ISS%20complete.pdf Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B LB2331 B33 1991

Beveridge, W. W. O. (1927). Infant Welfare Center. In Report on the public health and on medical conditions in New Providence, Bahama Island (pp.37-38). Waterlow & Sons Limited. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B RA407.5 B3 B49 1927

Beveridge, W. W. O. (1927). Midwives Bill. In Report on the public health and on medical conditions in New Providence, Bahama Island (p.22). Waterlow & Sons Limited. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B RA407.5 B3 B49 1927

Beveridge, W. W. O. (1927). Trained Midwives. In Report on the public health and on medical conditions in New Providence, Bahama Islands (p.18). Waterlow & Sons Limited. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B.GOVDOC RA407.5 B3 B49 1927

Boersma, E.R. (1985). Perinatal care in six eastern Caribbean countries. Bulletin of the Pan American Health Organization, 19(1), 45-60. https://iris.paho.org/bitstream/handle/10665.2/27301/ev19n1p45.pdf?sequence=1

Brown, V. (2012). Maternal and child health initiative. Ministry of Health. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B.GOVDOC RG963 B24 B76 2012

Burke, G. A. (1977). Nurse-midwifery in the Caribbean. PAHO Bulletin, XI(4), 332-337.

Craton, M. & Saunders, G. (1992). Maternal and child health. In Islanders in the stream: A history of the Bahamian people (pp.321-25). University of Georgia Press. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B F1656 C72 1992 v.1

Craton, M. & Saunders, G. (1992). Newborns. In Islanders in the stream: A history of the Bahamian people (p.318). University of Georgia Press. Call Number:Bahamian Special Collections:  B F1656 C72 1992 v.1

Craton, M. & Saunders, G. (1998). Midwifery. In Islanders in the stream: A history of the Bahamian people. (pp.166, 224). University of Georgia Press. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B F1656 C72 1998 v.2

Craton, M. & Saunders, G. (1998). Infant Welfare Clinic. In Islanders in the stream: A history of the Bahamian people (pp. 255, 279, 306). University of Georgia Press. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B F1656 C72 1998 v.2

Craton, M. (2007). Birth rate. In A-Z of Bahamas heritage (pp. 299). Macmillan Caribbean. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B.REF F1656 C713 2007

Department of Statistics (2004). Adolescent. In Bahamas living conditions survey 2001. (pp.65-95, 83). Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B.GOVDOC HC152 B23 2004

Department of Statistics. (2004). Breastfeeding. In Bahamas living conditions survey 2001 (pp.73-75, 84). Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections:  B.GOVDOC HC152 B23 2004

Department of Statistics (2004). Child Health. In Bahamas living conditions survey 2001 (pp.70, 84). Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections:  B.GOVDOC HC152 B23 2004

Dorsett, S. (2017, August 11). Maternity plans not good enough. The Tribune. http://www.tribune242.com/news/2017/aug/11/maternity-plans-not-good-enough/

Gibson, J. (2019, April 30). Celebrating the invaluable work of midwives. The Tribune. http://www.tribune242.com/news/2019/apr/30/celebrating-invaluable-work-midwives/

Hahnlen, N.C., Rosado, M.S., Capozzi, K. A. & Hamon, R. R. (1997, November 7-10). Mothering in the Bahamas: a student ethnography. Presented at the 59^th Annual Conference of the NCFR Fatherhood and Motherhood in a Diverse and Changing World, Arlington, VA.  http://www.eric.ed.gov/ERICWebPortal/recordDetail?accno=ED417004.

Help shape policy and build healthcare capacity, nursing graduates told. (2015, June 3). The Nassau Guardian. https://thenassauguardian.com/2015/06/03/help-shape-policy-and-build-healthcare-capacity-nursing-graduates-told/

Johnson, F. (2018, August 8). Blessing ceremony held for maternity unit. The Tribune. http://www.tribune242.com/news/2018/aug/08/blessing-ceremony-held-maternity-unit/

Macnalty, A., & Flack, I. H. (1947). Section of the history of medicine: The pre-history of midwifery. [Abridged]. Proceedings of the Royal Society of Medicine. https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/pdf/10.1177/003591574704001214

Maycock, D. (2018, May 4). Grand Bahama hosts Midwives Conference. The Tribune. http://www.tribune242.com/news/2018/may/04/grand-bahama-hosts-midwives-conference/

McCormack, J. H., Maier, K. & Wallens, P. B. (2011). Midwifery, pregnancy and childbirth. In Bush medicine in the Bahamas (pp. 223-241). JHM Design Publications. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections:  B RS164 B3 M333 2011

Miller, S. (1992). Nurse-midwifery in St. Vincent and the Grenadines. Journal of Nurse-Midwifery, 37(1), 53-60.  https://doi.org/10.1016/0091-2182(92)90022-U

Munnings, H. A. (2014). Bahamas Family Planning. In Healthcare in The Bahamas: 200 years of growth and development (pp. 181, 191, 238). Media. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B RA456 B24 M85 2014

Munnings, H. A. (2014). Child health and sanitation. In Healthcare in The Bahamas: 200 years of growth and development (pp.52-58). Media Enterprises. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B RA456 B24 M85 2014

Munnings, H. A. (2014). Family planning. In Healthcare in The Bahamas: 200 years of growth and development (pp.181, 188, 191, 238). Media Enterprises. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B RA456 B24 M85 2014

Munnings, H. A. (2014). Midwifery. In Healthcare in The Bahamas: 200 years of growth and development (pp.123). Media Enterprises. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B RA456 B24 M85 2014

Munnings, H.A. (2009). Infant Welfare Association. In Princess Margaret Hospital: The story of a Bahamian institution. (2^nd ed) (pp.138, 202). Xlibris Corporation. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections:  B RA984 B24 M96 2009

Munnings, H.A. (2009). Children’s Ward. In Princess Margaret Hospital: The story of a Bahamian institution. (2^nd ed.), (pp. 43, 64-66, 70, 73, 79, 111, 149, 182-184). Xlibris Corporation. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections:  B RA984 B24 M96 2009

Munnings, H.A. (2009). Neonatal Intensive Care Unit. In Princess Margaret Hospital: The story of a Bahamian institution. (2^nd ed.) (pp. 140, 142). Xlibris Corporation. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections:  B RA984 B24 M96 2009

Munnings, H.A. (2009). Special Care Baby Unit. In Princess Margaret Hospital: The story of a Bahamian institution. (2^nd ed.) (pp. 138-144). Xlibris Corporation. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B RA984 B24 M96 2009

Munnings, H.A. (2009). Dr. Maude Stevenson. In Princess Margaret Hospital: The story of a Bahamian institution. (2^nd ed) (pp. 139). Xlibris Corporation. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B RA984 B24 M96 2009

Munnings, H.A. (2009). Obstetrics and Gynecology Units. In Princess Margaret Hospital: The story of a Bahamian institution. (2^nd ed.) (pp. 160-161). Xlibris Corporation. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections: B RA984 B24 M96 2009

National Insurance Board. (2011). Maternity benefit. [Brochure]. https://www.nib-bahamas.com/UserFiles/HTMLEditor/Maternity%20Benefit%20Brochure%202011.pdf

Neely-Smith, S. (2003). The impact of HIV/AIDS of Bahamian women: a feminist perspective. Health Care for Women International, 24, 738-754. https://doi.org/10.1080/07399330390227490

Neely-Smith, S. (2003). The influence of self-esteem and self-silencing on self-efficacy for negotiating safer sex behaviors in urban Bahamian women [Doctoral Dissertation]. Barry University. https://ufdcimages.uflib.ufl.edu/AA/00/00/00/28/00001/Shane%20Neely%20dissertation.pdf Call number. RA644.A25 N44 2003

Nurses and Midwives Act,  225. (2001). http://laws.bahamas.gov.bs/cms/images/LEGISLATION/PRINCIPAL/1971/1971-0012/NursesandMidwivesAct_1.pdf

Pan American Health Organization. (1993). Maternal and child health strategy for the Caribbean community. (3^rd ed.). [Author]. Call Number: West Indian Collection W RG963 C27 P37 1993

Princess Margaret Hospital/Public Hospital Authority. (2001, June 25). Special care week: Neonatal Intensive care & Special Care Units. The Nassau Guardian (Supplement), pp. 1-6.

Pence-Rooks, J. (1997). Granny midwives. In Midwifery & childbirth in America (pp.8, 18, 22, 27, 35-36, 46, 64, 143, 232). Temple University Press. Call Number: RG950 R66 1997

Rinker, S. D. (1995). To spread the gospel of good obstetrics: The evolution of obstetrics nursing, 1890-1940. [Doctoral Dissertation]. Bell & Howell Company. Call Number: RG950 R54 1995

Rise in infant mortality “not PLP fault”. (2012, April 11). The Tribune. http://www.tribune242.com/news/2012/apr/11/rise-in-infant-mortality-not-plp-fault/

Sargent, C. & Rawlins, J. (1992). Transformations in maternity services in Jamaica. Social Science and Medicine, 35(10), 1225-1235. https://doi.org/10.1016/0277-9536(92)90176-Q

Saunders, G. (1999). Nurse Alice Hill-Jones. Journal of the Bahamas Historical Society, 21, pp. 48-49.

Symonette, M. E. (2001).The beliefs and practices of Bahamian mothers and expectant teenagers concerning childrearing [Master’s Thesis]. Barry University. Call Number: Bahamian Special Collections:  B.DISS HQ759.4 S96 2001

Turnquest, A. (2017, May 16). Minnis promises new maternity wing at PMH. The Tribune. http://www.tribune242.com/news/2017/may/16/minnis-promises-new-maternity-wing-pmh/

Wells, R. (2015, June 9). Health insurance ‘will reduce unacceptable infant mortality.’ The Tribune. http://www.tribune242.com/news/2015/jun/09/health-insurance-will-reduce-unacceptable-infant-m/