The International Confederation of Midwives (ICM) supports, represents and works to strengthen professional associations of midwives throughout the world. There are currently 143 Midwives' Associations, representing 124 countries across every continent.
The Royal College of Midwives is a UK-based professional organisation and trade union dedicated to serving midwifery and the whole midwifery team.
The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional association that represents certified nurse-midwives (CNMs) and certified midwives (CMs) in the United States
The Midwives Alliance of North America (MANA), established in 1982, is a professional membership organization that promotes excellence in midwifery practice, endorses diversity in educational backgrounds and practice styles, and is dedicated to unifying and strengthening the profession, thereby increasing access to quality health care and improving outcomes for women, babies, families, and communities.
Midwives Association of the Commonwealth of The Bahamas was established in 2005. A brief history of its inception is included in this booklet published in 2019: The 1st Midwifery Living Legends Honorary Awards Presentation. and in this newspaper article from 2018. Anderson, E. (2018, May 1). Celebrating midwives. The Tribune. http://www.tribune242.com/news/2018/may/01/celebrating-midwives/
Rawlins, J. M. (2006). Midlife and older women: Family life, work and health in Jamaica. University of the West Indies Press.
Clinical Practice Guidelines for Midwifery and Women's Health by 
Gynecologic Health Care by 
Comprehensive Neonatal Nursing Care by 
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Contains 500+ journals in psychology and behavioral science not included PsycARTICLES. More than 80% are full-text; almost all are peer-reviewed, many with coverage back to the 1970s.
JOGNN: Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic and Neonatal Nursing. Print holdings plus full text
Journal of Perinatal and Neonatal Nursing. Full text to 2005
MCN: The American Journal of Maternal / Child Nursing. Print
British Journal of Midwifery. Full text 2002-present
*The following are among the most highly cited journals in the maternal-child nursing literature.
American Journal of Public Health. Full text. 1975-present
Birth: Issues in Perinatal Care. Full text 1998-present
Journal of Midwifery and Women’s Health. Print holdings, Full text 2011-present
Maternal & Child Health Journal. Full text 1997-
Nursing Research. Print current subscription
Pediatrics. Full text 2011-present
