Skip to Main Content

SWK311: Diversity in a Multicultural Society: Books

In this course, students use a diversity framework to examine the lived realities of populations-at-risk in The Bahamas. Emphasis is on the importance of enhancing diversity consciousness and cultural competence and models for engaging different populatio

Search for Books by Subject

The following are some of the subject terms used to find books using UBWEB, the Library's online catalogue:

Bisexuals – Services for
Cross-cultural counseling
Families
Family psychotherapy
Haitians
Haitians—Migration
Human behavior
Minorities
Minorities—Family relationships
Minorities—Mental health services
Multiculturalism
Person-in-environment system
Social case work
Social service
Social service and race relations
Social service—Psychological aspects
Social work with gays
Social work with lesbians
Social work with minorities
Social workers—Professional ethics
Transgender people—Services for

Finding A Book

To find a book at one of your branch libraries, you should first search our Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC), COBWEB.

Books in UBWEB (OPAC)

Applied Human Behavior in the Social Environment by Brad W. Lundahl; Grafton Hull
Call Number: HM1033 .L86 2015
ISBN: 0205706363
Publication Date: 2015
Human Behavior in the Social Environment provides a foundation of understanding that will help future social workers assist others. Students will gain a broad understanding of human functioning and will learn strategies for helping individuals, families, and groups' well being. This title includes coverage of theories and research on the many influences on human well-being and human suffering in order for readers to apply the material later in their careers. Readers will learn how understanding the human condition helps social workers enhance the lives of individuals, families, and others.
Counseling Across Cultures by Paul B. Pedersen; Juris G. Draguns; Walter J. Lonner; Joseph E. Trimble
Call Number: BF637.C6 C63 2002
ISBN: 0761920862
Publication Date: 2002
Counseling Across Cultures, offers a comprehensive examination of the increasing priority of culture in the counselling process.The contributors examine the cultural context of accurate assessment and appropriate interventions in counselling, highlighting work with groups including African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanics, American Indians, refugees, and international students. Chapters also consider culturally appropriate counselling methods as they relate to gender, aged populations, health psychology, and school settings.
Counseling the Culturally Different by Donald W. Sue
Call Number: BF637.C6 S85 1990
ISBN: 0471842699
Publication Date: 1990
This text explores issues relevant to the culturally different in the United States and cuts across all ethnic/racial minorities. It is divided into three parts covering issues and concepts in cross-cultural counseling, counseling individual populations and critical incidents in cross-cultural counseling. Specifically, the conceptual framework is provided to aid in understanding the minority experience in the U.S., the role counseling has played with respect to larger societal forces, and the practice of cross-cultural counseling in mental health agencies, industries, public schools and correctional settings. Additionally, specific minority groups are given individual treatment to contrast similarities and differences.
Diversity, Oppression, and Social Functioning by George A. Appleby; Edgar A. Colon; Julia Hamilton
Call Number: HV3176 .A77 2011
ISBN: 0205787290
Publication Date: 2011
Using the "Person-In-Environment" (PIE) theoretical framework, this diversity practice text teaches students how to think about their personal reactions and assumptions about diversity and what constitutes cultural competent "assessment" and "intervention" when working with a broad range of diverse populations. The diverse populations presented in the text are described within an ecological, strengths perspective. The authors' thesis is that, in order to work effectively with diverse populations, it is necessary to take into consideration the complex dynamics of social functioning and social oppression. The "Person-In-Environment" theoretical framework provides a basis for analysis of the social, economic, and political reality of these diverse populations.
Diversity Perspectives for Social Work Practice by Joseph Anderson; Robin Wiggins Carter
Call Number: HV3176 .D594 2003
ISBN: 0205340652
Publication Date: 2003
This book examines the prevailing theoretical frameworks for viewing diversity in social work practice and helps readers develop competencies for work with and on behalf of diverse populations. The theoretical frameworks presented in the book cover three major dimensions of the diversity theme in social work practice: ethnocultural diversity, oppression and social justice, and vulnerable, at-risk populations.
Ethical Standards in Social Work by Frederic G. Reamer
Call Number: HV40.8.U6 R43 1998
ISBN: 0871012936
Publication Date: 1998
Provides social work professionals with a detailed overview and discussion of the NASW Code of Ethics as well as offering practical guidance to social workers seeking advice and consultation on ethical issues.
From the Front Lines by Juliet C. Rothman
Call Number: HV43 .R68 2013
ISBN: 9780205866410
Publication Date: 2013
Provides students with a decision-making process for ethical issues while providing examples with a number of case studies. Part One teaches readers the rationale for each part of the decision-making process and the tools needed to address it professionally. Part Two encompasses a thorough presentation and consideration of cases that address ethical dilemmas, issues, and problems which occur in social work practice. This text also encourages students to explore their own values and how they are used in everyday life as well as professionally.
Resolving Ethical Dilemmas in Social Work Practice by Norman Linzer; Wurzweiler School of Social Work Staff
Call Number: HV43 .L53 1999
ISBN: 0205290418
Publication Date: 1999
This book provides a unique integration of theory and practice, by presenting ethical dilemmas that many people will encounter in their careers and personal lives, and offering models for classifying value conflicts and making ethical decisions. This how-to approach provides a way of thinking about values and ethics that permits the reader to make his or her own decisions based on rational decision-making models. The author provides numerous examples that encapsulate all sides of certain ethical conflicts, helping readers to visualize and understand the issues and processes involved in resolving ethical dilemmas.
Social Work Practice with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People by Gerald P. Mallon (Editor)
Call Number: HV1449 .F68 2008
ISBN: 9780789033581
Publication Date: 2008
This informative book provides a knowledge base of practice that will better prepare students and practitioners for working sensitively, competently, and effectively with LGBT individuals. The text now covers content on LGBT populations as articulated by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) and the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE). Comprehensive and practical, this unique text discusses the pragmatic aspects of social work with lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people. It will improve and reinforce competent practice with LGBT persons and their families in multiple settings.
The Strengths Perspective in Social Work Practice by Dennis Saleebey (Editor)
Call Number: HV41 .S827 2002
ISBN: 0801333105
Publication Date: 2002
'The Strengths Perspective in Social Work Practice' presents a collection of essays, explains the strengths-based philosophy, demonstrates how it works, and provides clear and practical tools for its application.

Google Books

CREDO Reference eBooks

Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture by Guido Bolaffi (Editor); Peter Braham (Editor); Sandro Gindro (Editor); Tullio Tentori (Editor); Raffaele Bracalenti (Editor)
Call Number: e-Book
ISBN: 9780761969006
Publication Date: 2002
Race, ethnicity and culture are concepts of extreme relevance in society today, and yet continue to be interpreted in various and often contradictory ways. The Dictionary provides the historical background and etymology of a wide range of words related to these concepts, looking at discourses of race, ethnicity and culture from a broadly multicultural perspective. It will help undergraduate and graduate students to use conceptual material effectively to write better essays, and will be an essential source of reference in the professional fields, particularly for social workers and teachers.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by Mary Kupiec Cayton , Peter W. Williams
Call Number: e-Book
ISBN: 9780684805610
Publication Date: 2001
The Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Patrick L. Mason
Call Number: e-Book
ISBN: 9780028661957
Publication Date: 2013
The Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the United States and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Thomas Riggs
Call Number: e-Book
ISBN: 0787675504
Publication Date: 2014
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America updates the essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. It will also add cultures previously not covered.

Proquest eBooks

Building Cultural Competence by Kate Berardo (Editor); Fons Trompenaars (Foreword by); Darla K. Deardorff (Editor)
ISBN: 1579228038
Publication Date: 2012
This book provides a cutting-edge framework and an innovative collection of ready-to-use tools and activities to help build cultural competence-from the basics of understanding core concepts of culture to the complex work of negotiating identity and resolving cultural differences.
Global Issues in Education by Greg Wiggan (Editor); Charles Hutchison (Editor); Ruth Ahnert (Contribution by); Joan G. DeJaeghere (Contribution by); J. Lynn McBrien (Contribution by)
ISBN: 1607092719
Publication Date: 2009
Global Issues in Education bridges the discourse on globalization and education with international studies on race, class, gender, ethnicity, culture, and multiculturalism.