The University Libraries provides scholarly research articles through EBSCOhost and JSTOR. EBSCOhost is a collection of scholarly research resources that support teaching and learning. EBSCOhost contains many individual databases which provide the most up to date research articles in a variety of subject areas. Ebsco also contains resources to assist nursing students and others managing illness. EBSCOhost also contains an ebook collection. JSTOR is a digital library that has books and primary sources, and some current issues of journals, with full-text journal articles. To access EBSCOhost and JSTOR, click on the links on the UB Libraries website. When off-campus simply enter your full UB email address and password.
First visit the UB site (http://www.ub.edu.bs/)
Click the ACADEMICS tab
Click UB Libraries,
**When off campus you will be asked for a username and password. Enter your entire UB email address as the username and the password for the same. If you changed the password during the initial log in, use the new password that you created.**
Not all articles are available via full-text. For full-text articles, look for icons for HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text. For articles available from UB Library in print format only, look for Notes: UB Library has print copy of this journal.
Accessing EBSCOhost is the same as accessing JSTOR, so you may follow the instructions in the box above and click on the EBSCOhost link instead.
This link will take you to the homepage for EBSCOhost where you can select which resources you would like to use.
EBSCOhost web, at the top you will be taken to the list of available databases along with database descriptions. This will allow you to search each database individually.
Nursing Reference Center Plus and Patient Education Reference Center provide information on identifying and managing medical conditions including nursing skills videos. View the introductory video on how to use NRC+
ebooks on EBSCOhost provides a variety of ebooks.
The EBSCO Discovery Service searches across all library resources depending on the subject category. This means that when you conduct a search using the Ebsco Discovery Service your results will include items from across all of the individual databases within EBSCOhost. Additionally relevant items from the OPAC, CREDO, JSTOR and other library resources will also be included
When you select one of the Ebsco Discovery Service links you will see a page like the one below. You may enter a search term or choose Advanced search which will allow you to combine search terms. As you enter a search term Ebsco will suggest terms to you that you may wish to use. You can use a term suggested to you or continue with your own search term.
When you enter a search term you will get a results list similar to the one below. Do not be discouraged by a large results set. The Ebsco Discovery Service determines relevance very well. So you will get results that you can use near the top of your results list most of the time.
There is a Refine Results bar to the left of your results. This bar contains various filters that you can apply to your results set to make it smaller and more manageable. You can also select Show More from within the Refine Results bar. This will take you to a screen which will allow you to apply multiple filters on your results at once.
The most commonly used filters in refining a results list are as follows;
Linked full-text or Limit to full-text - Not everything in Ebsco is available in full text. Checking this box will only show you results which are available in full text
Peer Reviewed - Peer-review speaks to a process where articles in a journal are reviewed by established academics in a given field. Most of the content in EBSCOhost databases comes from peer-reviewed journals. However there are also magazines, newspapers, trade publications and other types of publications. Checking this box will only show you the results which come from peer-reviewed journals.
Date Published - This allows you to only see results that were published during a time period which you choose.
Language - Most EBSCOhost content is published in English. However there are other languages that are used. This menu gives you the option of viewing articles that are written in different languages.
Once you have refined your results set you can begin to select articles that you may wish to use. Under each article you will find publication information. This includes; the author(s), name of journal that the article is published in and the date of publication etc.
Next to each article are two very important icons. The first looks like piece of paper with a magnifying glass. If you hover your mouse over this icon a bubble will appear which contains an abstract. The abstract is a summary of the article. The second icon is a folder with a plus sign. This icon means Add to Folder. This feature allows you to set articles aside as you are going through your list. Once you have added articles to your folder you can view your folder from a link to the rights of your results or at the very top of the page.
Please note - Anywhere that you see PDF full-text or HTML full-text you may click on the link to view the article online.
When you click on a full-text link the article will open online. Once an article is open you can print it out or save it. You can also email and article to yourself. Once you have articles in your folder, elect the article that you want to email to yourself. Then select the email option to the right in your folder view. You can then email the article to yourself and/or someone else. You can also have EBSCOhost send you a formatted citation along with the article. BE CAREFUL, the citations from within Ebsco are machine generated, so they may contain errors. So you still have to review them before you turn in an assignment.
